Elizabeth Melton Parsons

Writing~Art~Life

Baby Dies–Other Children Taken By CPS

4 Comments

Mr. and Mrs. Smith loved their three children and were completely devastated when their youngest died of SIDS (sudden infant death syndrome). More heartache lay in store when several months later a caseworker from child welfare appeared at their door.

Telling the couple she’d been informed they might need help, she gained entrance and immediately asked if they had food in the house. Not understanding what exactly the woman was doing there, they complied with her request to see inside their well-stocked refrigerator and cupboards. The caseworker then asked to see their other children. Again the couple complied. Although the children were well cared for and appeared happy, things went downhill from there.

The caseworker began interrogating them on the death of their baby and accusing them of causing the infant’s death. Mrs. Smith, having never recovered from the loss, became hysterical and Mr. Smith lost his temper. After asking the woman several times to leave their home, he then threatened bodily harm if she didn’t immediately leave. She left, but returned the next day with a local police officer and forcibly removed the children from their home.

The papers she left with the couple stated the children were being removed because of the father’s uncontrolled violence and the suspicious death of their infant child.

The couple gathered medical documents and doctor statements verifying the health and cause of death of their child. With these documents, as well as testimony from friends, family members, and neighbors, Mr. and Mrs. Smith went to court with full confidence they’d be exonerated and bring their children home. They found this was to be but one of many long drawn out court battles.

The case was finally resolved when the caseworker involved was proved to have made many false statements on documents submitted to the court. After a year apart the family was finally reunited, but not before losing their home and jobs because of the financial burden, having to appear in court so often and comply with a long list of demands from social services. After regaining custody of their children, they left the state to stay with relatives and try to rebuild the lives destroyed by one over zealous caseworker.

What I don’t understand about the case above is…why wasn’t the caseworker involved fired and why wasn’t she held legally accountable for submitting false statements in a court of law? I was told it was because the papers submitted by the caseworker weren’t legal documents or some such BS. I guess my small brain just doesn’t understand the legal system. I do know that if I lie in court, I’ll be charged with perjury.

Read my other post: Children Kidnapped by CPS: https://elizabethmeltonparsons.wordpress.com/2008/02/20/children-kidnapped-by-cps/

Elizabeth
http://elizabethmeltonparsons.com

Author: Elizabeth Melton Parsons

I'm a novelist, poet, and artist. I love books, nature, art, and gardening. I'm a rock hound and there's a photo of me with a cool fossil rock on my about page, I take a lot of nature pictures. The background here is one of mine. Unfortunately I recently lost my wonderful husband, but I'm grateful to have the blessing of two beautiful sons. elizabethmeltonparsons.wordpress.com is © Elizabeth Melton Parsons 2007-2018. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Elizabeth Melton Parsons with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

4 thoughts on “Baby Dies–Other Children Taken By CPS

  1. It’s all about money. They get lots of federal dollars to keep kids in foster care and have them adopted out.

    Like

  2. This story is very similar to my own,
    my involvement with CPS began with an ex getting angry over his increase in child support…I lost it all, my kids, my job, my home….CPS destroyed me.

    Like

  3. This story is very similar to my own,
    my involvement with CPS began with an ex getting angry over his increase in child support…I lost it all, my kids, my job, my home….CPS destroyed me.

    Like

  4. CPS is probably the worst agency in the state, I have dealt with them in the past when my ex was abusing my children and they even went to court on my behalf but in the end they turned on me and threatened to take my baby from a new marriage because I was a “bad parent”! I threatened them back and they left him alone. Why didn’t they protect the 2 who needed it instead of going after an innocent baby for no reason!!

    Just recently a dear friend lost her baby to SIDS and CPS immediately came in while they were dealing with the shock of the event and processing with the authorities and took their other children!! How could anyone be so cold hearted, these kids need their parents and their parents need them!

    How do I get them help? I’m distraught for them as I could never imagine losing my child, but losing all 3 in one night because of such a dreadful occurrence as SIDS is unjustified!

    Like

“Our opinions do not really blossom into fruition until we have expressed them to someone else.” ― Mark Twain

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.