Elizabeth Melton Parsons

Writing~Art~Life

Get Your Drawers ON!

42 Comments

I search for free book promotions for my Kindle on a pretty regular basis and the other day I found a historic, romantic suspense novel. This happens to be a genre I like quite a bit so I began reading it right away, even though I was already reading Flatland and Cider House Rules. But then, I always read more than one book at a time and I really enjoy these novels when I’m riding my stationary bike. I was about two thirds of the way into it, pedaling my little legs off and having a grand old time when I came to a scene that just happens to be my favorite pet peeve in both books and movies.

Old-Photo-Romantic-Couple-GraphicsFairyYou know that scene, the one where they’ve been catching a few winks and the hero wakes the heroine and tells her they have to get moving because the killer is only minutes from catching up to them. So they’re rushing around in preparation for leaving and suddenly they have to have “the talk”. I’m sorry I did this or didn’t do that-where is our relationship going-blah-blah-blah? Yeah, okay, but ummm…the bad guys are coming. Get moving kiddos.

And if that weren’t bad enough, just when you think they’ve come to their senses and are going to start making tracks, no— lust takes control of them and they must have sex. Not quicky sex, but full blown hour and a half long love making. Come on, get your drawers on and get moving already! Nope, not going to happen. After all that expended energy, they fall into a coma and wake up when the killers are breaking the door down. 🙄

Okay so it usually ends well with them taking out the bad guys and living happily ever after, but in real life they’d be toast. Don’t get me wrong, I thoroughly enjoyed the book (minus that part) and I also enjoy a lot of movies with these kinds of scenes. But I have a real problem not getting annoyed about them. If I were in that kind of situation, I wouldn’t care how hot the guy is or how badly I might be lusting after him–he’d keep those drawers on until we were safe. Period!

What’s your movie or book pet peeves?

Photo credit Graphics Fairy

Author: Elizabeth Melton Parsons

I'm a novelist, poet, and artist. I love books, nature, art, and gardening. I'm a rock hound and there's a photo of me with a cool fossil rock on my about page, I take a lot of nature pictures. The background here is one of mine. Unfortunately I recently lost my wonderful husband, but I'm grateful to have the blessing of two beautiful sons. elizabethmeltonparsons.wordpress.com is © Elizabeth Melton Parsons 2007-2017. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Elizabeth Melton Parsons with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

42 thoughts on “Get Your Drawers ON!

  1. Elizabeth, you made me laugh. I love this post.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I love this post and I couldn’t help giggling at the images you presented!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Funny! I’ll have to go with cliches.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Killers, breaking down the door, would definitely be a mood killer for me, Elizabeth. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Brilliantly funny ! I just love this post Elizabeth……..hang on, we’ve got to talk all night about this and an hour behind the bike sheds …… oh, the comment ! Nothing to say really 😉 xox ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Hehehe..these scenes are my pet-peeves too 😀 Another one is when the hero keeps on ranting with a gun in his hand instead of shooting the villain. 😛

    You’ve described it so nicely Elizabeth… I’m still laughing… 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  7. So funny! Yes, this is one of my biggest peeves too. I hate it when the hero breaks into someone’s apartment to search for something and then gets distracted and goes wandering about the rooms wasting time. Arrgh!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Thanks for the laugh, Elizabeth. The ‘talk’ and lust cannot wait! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Wow you probably don’t remember me, on Google+ over a year ago.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. You are spot in with this, I tend to be urging people to move when things like happen, or I time how long they’ve faffed around, maybe sex with danger imminent is the most powerful turn on but the odds are you get to enjoy much more of it if you escape the bad guys.

    It annoys me that people aren’t logical in books and films and forever just do whatever is in their heads at the given moment, in fact all clichés annoy me now I think about it. I think I will be avoiding most films and books from now on lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    • 😆 Oh yeah, I can see you avoiding books, Ste J. What a hoot! I know in fiction especially novels strictly for entertainment, there must be acts of stupidity, but this one really annoys me. I just remind myself that after all, it is fiction. Have a great day.

      Liked by 1 person

  11. I know movies are usually about fantasy, but I would like ‘real fantasy’ and not fantasy that is too out there. My sister would always tell me to “go to your room” in my own house when a movie was starting all because I would question some of the plots like the one you mentioned.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ha, ha–I love that. Your sister sending you to your room in your own house. 😀 My hubby gets annoyed with me occasionally if I get going on a certain plot hole while the movie is playing so I try to wait until it’s over.

      Like

  12. Hi Elizabeth
    Cute and witty post Elizabeth.
    I am Finally back home. Need a rest after my vacation .Friends and relatives were determined to keep me busy so I wouldn’t have time to think or cry. Also didn’t have much time to write. Wishing you and your family a Happy Easter.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Tous les romans de Jean Christophe GRANGE… FILMS: Phantom of Paradise , Rocky horror in a pictures show , American Graffitis , LA Fureur de Vivre …!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Elizabeth, you are so right on this! I can’t agree more and simply don’t understand why novelists do this.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sometimes, It’s the editor’s fault just like with other silly scenes they insist on. At other times, I guess it’s just a way to allow the bad guy to catch up. I can think of some better ones though. Thanks, Elizabeth and a very Happy Easter. 🙂

      Like

  15. “hahaha”! I know what you are saying.
    Movie Pet Peeve: CGI Special effects that takeover to the point that I have to turn to who I am with and ask “what are we watching, again?”
    Happy Easter!

    Liked by 1 person

  16. You narrate very well, it made me giggle few times.

    Liked by 1 person

“Our opinions do not really blossom into fruition until we have expressed them to someone else.” ― Mark Twain

