Elizabeth Melton Parsons

Writing~Art~Life

Blog Buddy-Day 1- Deb Stevens

22 Comments

Deb

On this first day of the new year (for us in this part of the world) I’d like to introduce you to one of my dearest friends, Debbie Stevens from NSW Australia. I first met Deb online many years ago and we became fast friends, communicating through instant messages, email and telephone. This charming lady has been a blessing in my life and I will be forever grateful for her friendship. A talented poet/writer, she not only works a full time job, but campaigns tirelessly to bring about awareness and early detection of Ovarian Cancer. Twice nominated for the Australian of the Year Award, Deb is always number one in my book. Although she doesn’t have time to be a gung ho blogger, she does have a WordPress blog and her posts are always entertaining and informative.  https://deliberatelydebbie.wordpress.com I’ve posted one of her poems below. Now everyone go give Deb a shout out when you have the time.

Secret of the Sea

Ash on his boots
No more luster, no more shine
Her face at a window
Takes him to another time
Applause is for the wind
One big step to have it all
Notes of a melody play over in his head
He places one more call
One secret told, she kept it safe
A stranger’s heart cried out for more
She returns the favour with her lips
A greater challenge lay in store
Beyond the plank meant a last farewell
Camel coat, soft hat and case
Second thoughts as the smoke screen lifts
Not the home he will embrace

Poem and photo: Copyright Debbie A Stevens

Author: Elizabeth Melton Parsons

I'm a novelist, poet, and artist. I love books, nature, art, and gardening. I'm a rock hound and there's a photo of me with a cool fossil rock on my about page, I take a lot of nature pictures. The background here is one of mine. Unfortunately I recently lost my wonderful husband, but I'm grateful to have the blessing of two beautiful sons. elizabethmeltonparsons.wordpress.com is © Elizabeth Melton Parsons 2007-2017. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Elizabeth Melton Parsons with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

22 thoughts on “Blog Buddy-Day 1- Deb Stevens

  1. Your friend is extremely talented. Thanks for posting this. I will check out her blog! Happy New Year, Elizabeth! H x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Happy new year Elizabeth! 🙂

    Like

  3. And you have a wonderful New Year too, Rob. 🙂

    Like

  4. Thank-you for the introduction, Elizabeth. I have just been visiting her blog and I am very impressed.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Thank you for introducing us to your pal, Deb. Anyone who campaigns for early detection and awareness of Ovarian Cancer is awesome in my book! Thanks, Elizabeth!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. 2015 is a day old, it is a pleasure to read you!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Nice piece….thanks for sharing Elizabeth. I’ll check her out!!! 🙂

    Like

  8. G’day Liza and fellow-bloggers! Just home from work and now reading this post….nawww Liza, you certainly know how to leave me speechless…am so honoured to have been selected first “cab off the rank”! Thank you for sharing my blog and my poem…and I truly am excited about meeting more wonderful folk……the door at Deliberately Debbie is always open…HAPPY NEW YEAR EVERYONE!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I really enjoyed the poem. Now, to head over to her blog! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Reblogged this on mribibharti and commented:
    nice

    Liked by 1 person

“Our opinions do not really blossom into fruition until we have expressed them to someone else.” ― Mark Twain

