Elizabeth Melton Parsons

Writing~Art~Life

Tis The Season

44 Comments

Christmas Wallpaper

Tis the season to be jolly. Unfortunately things have not been especially jolly around here lately. If I believed in curses, I’d swear someone had put one on me. Seems as if anything that can go wrong has done so. But having said that, I am jolly all the same because I had a fantabulous Thanksgiving!

A house full of adults talking, laughing. Kids running around and being silly, the dog going nuts from excitement, The food was perfect. Of course that could be my own biased opinion, but since I received many compliments even from those who are not above telling you exactly what they think, I’m pretty sure it was okay. I was very tired (a happy tired) from cooking for two days, everyone ate too much except myself. Unfortunately I must watch my diet even on holidays, so while everyone was rubbing their tummy and moaning, I was feeling smug. It was wonderful. πŸ˜€ That is until I began slicing the pumpkin pies I’d made and realized I couldn’t have any. Then I was the one moaning. 😦

Eventually all the guests left and Eric headed back to IU. So now I’ve been decorating for Christmas. I’ve finished inside and will start outside as soon as the atrocious weather clears a little. Hope all of you who celebrate Thanksgiving had a day as wonderful as mine. I’m trying to work through my list of return visits to you guys. I have a lot to make so it will take a few days, but I promise to visit you all asap. Many hugs from me to you. ❀

Author: Elizabeth Melton Parsons

I'm a novelist, poet, and artist. I love books, nature, art, and gardening. I'm a rock hound and there's a photo of me with a cool fossil rock on my about page, I take a lot of nature pictures. The background here is one of mine. Unfortunately I recently lost my wonderful husband, but I'm grateful to have the blessing of two beautiful sons. elizabethmeltonparsons.wordpress.com is Β© Elizabeth Melton Parsons 2007-2017. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Elizabeth Melton Parsons with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

44 thoughts on “Tis The Season

  1. Sorry to hear things haven’t been jolly around there, I can relate. We are dealing with “life on life’s terms” over here and it’s not always pleasant. Trying to stay positive and grateful, too! Glad you had a nice Thanksgiving…happy decorating!

    Like

  2. Hope you can take that marvelous positive attitude and sense of humor with you to make Christmas special. hugs, gerry

    Like

  3. And how do you do that thing where the quote comes above the comments?????? Love it.

    Like

  4. “…and a wonderful time was had by all!” Happy for you, Elizabeth, and looking forward to photos of your Christmas decorations. And that is a lovely Christmas image in this post. Where did it come from? It reminds me of a wonderful tableau I saw recently with miniature buildings, a creche, and a train track around it all.

    Like

    • Thanks Cynthia and yes, a wonderful time was had by all, even the dog. πŸ˜€ That tableau sounds wonderful. I’m always changing the wallpaper on my laptop to match the seasons or my mood and I found that picture on free wallpaper site using Google search. I loved it too. Hope you had a lovely holiday. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  5. At least your Thanksgiving went well. Here’s to small blessings. Hopefully a great Christmas on the way too!

    Like

  6. Let’s just say Thanksgiving broke the curse πŸ˜‰ Glad that a wonderful time was had! Peace . . .

    Like

  7. Hope you do have a great Christmas … πŸ™‚

    Like

  8. Hi Elizabeth! I’m glad you had a nice Thanksgiving. Shake off those blues, Eric will be back for Christmas before you know it! πŸ™‚ I love the photograph…it would make a great jigsaw puzzle. xo

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Glad to hear that Thanksgiving was a good one for you. Any time we get the chance for good conversation, laughter and good food, I’m right on it! I just love the holidays, but boy oh boy, I sure get tired….so many decorations to put up, food to prepare and people to see….Who has time to “blog”? I barely have enough time for “life”, at this time of year. Anyway, if I don’t “drop in” before the Christmas Season is totally upon us, have a loving, fun-filled, healthy Christmas, Elizabeth!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Things will get better πŸ™‚ I know, because receiving your comment made me smile, and I hope I can do the same, even if it’s a smidge of a creek. Smile because you deserve it, not for what is happening around you, but for you xx Lucas

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Hi Elizabeth πŸ˜€ Awww ! Surely it wasn’t that bad ! I’ll take my curse off now shall I ? Gonecursego ! Done ! Ralph xox ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Enjoyed reading about your wonderful day, albeit without being able to enjoy the fruits of your hard labor! πŸ™‚ But the house full of fun, laughter, and silliness is what it’s really all about anyway. And the beautiful illustration at the top was spirit raising. Take care.
    Mark

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Hope you have a wonderful season with family and friends, Elizabeth! Glad your Thanksgiving went well. Lovely post… πŸ™‚ Best wishes, Iris

    Like

  14. Beautiful post. πŸ™‚

    Like

  15. It cheers me that you had a great Thanksgiving but not so much that the wheels have come off since, I hope that you are getting sorted now though, in time for the next big holiday! I think I shall do my decorating today, I am always reluctant and lazy to do so but never mind, it will look half decent when I am finished.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. I have been decorating too. I think it is finally done. Yay!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. May the marvelous season of Christmas brings you Joy year around.Jalal

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Happy New Year dear friend. I hope 2015 will be special for you.With love Maxima

    Like

β€œOur opinions do not really blossom into fruition until we have expressed them to someone else.” ― Mark Twain

