Elizabeth Melton Parsons

Writing~Art~Life

Specter of Death

32 Comments

In a dark kind of mood today. Here’s an older, dark poem of mine. I may have already posted it before. If you’re familiar with it, just move on along or read it again. As you wish.

Grim-Reaper

Specter of Death

The specter of death floats round me
Watching_waiting__
knowing it won’t be long.

His stench is strong__
it fills me with dread.
His image a blur, his face__
a pale orb, not clear at all.

I fade as flowers at Winter’s song__
growing ever weaker.
I’m unable to rise from my bed.

There awaits no Angel at Heaven’s gate.
Wrapped deep within the specter’s embrace__
I’ll be carried away to Hell’s torment.

I have filled my life with evil__
shown mercy to none.
I feel no remorse.
I lived my life__
caused harm to many.
Their pain and suffering__
I did not lament.

To change now__
it’s much too late.

I missed my chance__
to change life’s course.

The specter’s image__
now quite clear.
He stands close__
arms open wide.

Eyes__
black, hollow spheres.
The stench is overwhelming__
It gags me.
In fear I now tremble__
he moves to my side.

Life__
precious life__
I gasp__
but there is no air.

His black cloak flows round me__
swallowing me in its coldness.
The suffering I caused__
is now my own.

Poem: Elizabeth Melton Parsons

Image: http://wallvan.com/desktop-walpaper-grim-reaper.html

Author: Elizabeth Melton Parsons

I'm a novelist, poet, and artist. I love books, nature, art, and gardening. I'm a rock hound and there's a photo of me with a cool fossil rock on my about page, I take a lot of nature pictures. The background here is one of mine. Unfortunately I recently lost my wonderful husband, but I'm grateful to have the blessing of two beautiful sons. elizabethmeltonparsons.wordpress.com is © Elizabeth Melton Parsons 2007-2017. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Elizabeth Melton Parsons with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

32 thoughts on “Specter of Death

  1. This is dark but well expressed. Death is a question mark for everybody. Only time tells.

    -Naima

    Like

  2. A very powerful poem, Elizabeth. And dark, yes. But so well expressed.

    Like

  3. Elizabeth, great poem and expressed no hope for eternity so well. I thankful one can have hope in Jesus. Have a great day!!

    Like

  4. Whoa ! That’s scary ! xox ❤

    Like

  5. Liked your words, Elizabeth… simply too doom and gloom for my tastes. I acknowledge the imminence and applaud people for how they choose to consider it; I just choose to focus on thriving and appreciating every moment, until there are no more.

    Like

  6. Very powerful, Elizabeth…the ending gave me a chill. Nicely done! xo

    Like

  7. Wow! Creepy! Nice work. Very nice.

    Like

  8. Tis very dark indeed, but NO life is beyond Christ’s salvation and redemption, not even the worst among us and you do not fall into the category! Blessings, Natalie 🙂

    Like

  9. Thanks Elizabeth. I am not going to sleep tonight! You have a talent for words.

    Like

  10. The words linger, as the imagery takes over as I sense what is coming and what brought the figure to this point. Powerful work here Elizabeth ~

    Like

  11. I like this, ghoulishly dark, those last thoughts can possibly be the defining moment to understanding the life we’ve led…it is a fascinating thought to muse upon…

    Like

  12. very well depicted. one feels the same as the poetess herself goes through the fear:)

    Like

“Our opinions do not really blossom into fruition until we have expressed them to someone else.” ― Mark Twain

