Elizabeth Melton Parsons

Writing~Art~Life

What is This Flower?

20 Comments

My husband took these photos the other day. I don’t recognize the plant.  So of course I came to ask all you fantastic gardeners. Anyone out there know what it is? You can click the images for much larger versions.

red flower

red flower-2

Author: Elizabeth Melton Parsons

I'm a novelist, poet, and artist. I love books, nature, art, and gardening. I'm a rock hound and there's a photo of me with a cool fossil rock on my about page, I take a lot of nature pictures. The background here is one of mine. Unfortunately I recently lost my wonderful husband, but I'm grateful to have the blessing of two beautiful sons. elizabethmeltonparsons.wordpress.com is © Elizabeth Melton Parsons 2007-2017. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Elizabeth Melton Parsons with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

20 thoughts on “What is This Flower?

  1. well it looks a heck of a lot like the clematis i have in my back garden so i am going with clematis as to what exact name it has i don’t know but clematis is definitely its type ^_^ have a super day x

    Like

    • Funny, that’s exactly what I thought it might be. But it’s a hibiscus, which was my husband’s guess. Thanks so much, Kezia. 🙂

      Like

      • ooh heck maybe i haven’t got a clematis out the back at all maybe i have a hibiscus! i confess i didn’t plant it was already here when i bought the house and i am no gardener! all i know is the darn thing won’t stop growing ! glad you found out what it was after all now if you find a way of controlling it let me know because every summer i have to hack it down and it grows straight away like wildfire covers my whole garage !
        i even tried digging it up but it somehow managed to grow from the smallest of shoots left ahh well maybe it is just meant to be there ^_^ have a great day love and peace be with you

        Like

        • Kezia, if yours has flowers and is climbing all over your garage, it probably is a clematis. If there are no flowers, it might be a Virginia Creeper. I have one of those on my garage that I keep cutting down and it keeps coming back. I don’t have a clue how to get rid of those things, but they are pretty in the autumn when they turn red. If it’s a clematis, why would you want to get rid of it? They’re gorgeous. By the way, my great grandmother’s name was Kezia. 😀

          Liked by 1 person

          • hiya ^_^ and i love that your nanna was called kezia it is such a pretty name, as to the ‘weed’ i keep in my back garden well it does flower much like your picture but it grows at such a rampant pace that literally within a week at the most two it will cover not only my whole garage but flows into my neighbours back garden i love clematis especially those with the big lilac flowers but this one is horrendous it reminds me of that plant from little shop of horrors honestly i hacked it clean from the earth it was as thick as a tree stump and as gnarled and convoluted then whoosh back it grows i swear i have poured root killer on it everything back it comes i have given up right now my back garden is a jungle that you have to hack your way through with machete! it covers everything my honest thought is too concrete over the lot i am too poorly i suffer ms and lymes so i cannot fight it anymore damn thing it is glad yours is not as rampant though and in all honesty i have never come across a plant like this before neighbour says it is a clematis so it must be they know their plants ahh well these things are sent to try us ^_^ have a super day peace and love be with you

            Like

  2. I don’t know what it is, but it sure is beautiful, Elizabeth! Thanks for adding some beauty to my day. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. A relative of the hibiscus family – maybe a distant one. The buds look like hybiscus/rose of sharon buds. It’s lovely.

    Like

  4. Look Hibiscus Texas Star, I believe that is what you are looking for. Beautiful 🙂

    Like

  5. What ever its called its gorgeous flower that puts a smile on ant face.Jalal

    Like

  6. It’s got to be a hibiscus! A tropical beauty and very popular on the northern coasts of OZ 🙂

    Like

“Our opinions do not really blossom into fruition until we have expressed them to someone else.” ― Mark Twain

