Elizabeth Melton Parsons

Writing~Art~Life

Tainted Waters by Maggie Thom

12 Comments

I purchased and read this book on my kindle a while back. I posted a little review on Amazon. Thought I’d share it here because some of you might enjoy reading it as much as I did.

tainted watersOn Amazon

Maggie Thom

Blurb: He didn’t commit suicide but who’s going to believe her…

Frustrated at being fired from her latest job and overwhelmed by her consolatory family, Sam decides to move to the family’s cabin at the lake. A place she hasn’t been since her dad committed suicide there twenty years before. Or did he? Snooping is something she’s good at but someone seems to be taking offence to her looking too closely at what has been happening at the lake. What she discovers is shocking. Now she must uncover what’s real and what’s not. All that she learned growing up, may be false. Keegan, who has recently moved to the area, to finish his latest book is also trying to find out if his grandfather, who’d passed away ten years before, died of natural causes or was murdered? The descendants of the four families who own the land around the lagoon are dying off. Since Sam and Keegan are the only ones questioning the deaths, they find themselves working together to seek the truth. Are people being murdered? Who would benefit from their deaths? Why would there be barricades and armed guards at the north end of the lake? To stay alive, Sam and Keegan must find the answers and convince others, before more people are killed… including them.

My Thoughts: An edge of your seat thriller that offers chills galore. I’d also put this in the mystery category, but for me, I figured it out at the very beginning. I will say though that one of the characters I’d thought was a villain turned out to be nothing more than a jerk. The story held my attention and I didn’t want to stop reading until I’d finished, which is always deserving of five stars in my opinion.

The author has a true gift for characterization. All the characters are interesting and believable.. Sam, the heroine, was the biggest klutz ever. Always falling down, running into someone or tripping over her own feet. Made me wonder if she had some kind of balance problem. Made her more human and thus more likable. I loved Keegan and Sam’s niece. Although if I’d been Keegan I might have been tempted to knock Sam out on those occasions when she seemed determined to get them both killed. If you love thrillers or mysteries with loads of fantastic characters and superb plot development, you’ll love Tainted Waters. This was my first book by Maggie Thom, but I’m looking forward to reading more.

Author: Elizabeth Melton Parsons

I'm a novelist, poet, and artist. I love books, nature, art, and gardening. I'm a rock hound and there's a photo of me with a cool fossil rock on my about page, I take a lot of nature pictures. The background here is one of mine. Unfortunately I recently lost my wonderful husband, but I'm grateful to have the blessing of two beautiful sons. elizabethmeltonparsons.wordpress.com is © Elizabeth Melton Parsons 2007-2017. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Elizabeth Melton Parsons with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

12 thoughts on “Tainted Waters by Maggie Thom

  1. Sounds like a great read, Elizabeth. I’ll check it out. Thanks.

    Like

  2. Well…if I ever feel like writing a book review…can you guess whom I would like to emulate??? It’s a secret I won’t reveal! Let it remain a mystery! 😀

    Like

  3. Great review with no spoilers Elizabeth.
    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

    Like

  4. Oh, this sounds good, Elizabeth! Great review…I’ll definitely be loading this onto my Kindle. Thanks for the recommendation.

    Like

  5. I’m always undecided on this type of book, but it is fair to say that you do entice me to give the genre just one more go…

    Like

    • I’ve always meant to ask you, Ste, what is your favorite genre to read for pure entertainment? You review such a vast variety of different ones on your blog, but I’ve never been able to tell which you love most. I don’t have a favorite. I love everything from intelligent, deeply thought provoking to downright silly. 😀

      Like

      • I think it all changes with my moods, after having at least a 90 second think, I have decided I can’t pick one and so will use the cop out answer of whichever book I’m reading is my favourite genre as all books entertain me…I suppose magical realism if I really had to pick one…but that could change in five minutes time. Being eclectic is what makes us the best readers. Embracing all is so miuch better than hiding in one genre and missing so many gems that are out there.

        Like

“Our opinions do not really blossom into fruition until we have expressed them to someone else.” ― Mark Twain

