Elizabeth Melton Parsons

Writing~Art~Life

Friendly Visitor and Bernie Photos

26 Comments

For the past couple of months, I’ve had a regular visitor. I don’t know his name or where he’s from. The first time I saw him, he was pilfering the bread I’d thrown out to the birds and chipmunks. I walked out on the porch and he hastily began to exit stage left. I called out for him to come and visit me for a while. I guess he wasn’t used to being invited for a chat. He came to me in a friendly, but wary manner, expecting any second to be scolded and told to get.

When he got closer I realized how thin he was. From the top looking down he looked like a razor blade. After petting him and having a nice little chat, I decided he needed something a little more substantial than bread. I ask him to stay for lunch and went into the house to get a bowl of Bernie’s food. When I returned he’d trotted up the road, assuming the visit was over. When I called to him, he immediately turned and ran back. I was a little surprised such a debilitated fella could run that fast. I asked if he could sit while I served his lunch. I didn’t think he would, but I hoped because I didn’t want him taking my hand off as I sat the bowl down.

He immediately plopped his bottom on the ground and waited politely to be served. After eating, he went his way and I went mine. I assumed he’d been dropped off in the neighborhood by someone unable or unwilling to care for him. He had no collar or tag.  Since that day he has has been a pretty regular visitor and since eating more often, he no longer looks as though he could keel over any second, but he’s still pitifully thin. Bernie always enjoys his visits as much as I do. Sometimes he comes up at night and lays on the porch with me while I do my stargazing. I noticed a new accessory the other day when he came. He was wearing a collar. Obviously he does belong to someone. Someone who puts a collar on him, but can’t be bothered to throw him a few scraps of food. I was so annoyed, if I knew who they were I’d have marched up to their house and asked them WTF. I’m still aggravated about it.  I took his picture today and he sat very nicely for my amateur photography efforts. Such a nice guy. Look at those sad eyes. If he was yours, could you look into that sad face and not at least feed him? I also added a picture of Bernie so he wouldn’t get upset.  And don’t look at my ugly porch floor, I’m still working on scraping all the old paint off.

black dog

black dog 2

bernie boxer 7-2014

 

 

Author: Elizabeth Melton Parsons

I'm a novelist, poet, and artist. I love books, nature, art, and gardening. I'm a rock hound and there's a photo of me with a cool fossil rock on my about page, I take a lot of nature pictures. The background here is one of mine. Unfortunately I recently lost my wonderful husband, but I'm grateful to have the blessing of two beautiful sons. elizabethmeltonparsons.wordpress.com is © Elizabeth Melton Parsons 2007-2017. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Elizabeth Melton Parsons with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

26 thoughts on “Friendly Visitor and Bernie Photos

  1. How kind of you to do this, Elizabeth. Can you call the humane society and find out who the owner is? (although one wonders if that’s any solution at all.)

    Like

  2. He needs you and there is nothing more wonderful. Thank you for this.

    Like

  3. Two beautiful dogs although I’m partial to your new friend. I have two black labs. Thank you so much, Elizabeth, for creating time and companionship for him. Any chance he might find a forever home with you and a new best buddy with Bernie?

    Like

  4. Beautiful dogs both Elizabeth. You’ve certainly made a new friend there. I hope whoever owns him starts looking after him a lot better than it currently seems.
    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

    Like

  5. What a sweet face. So good of you to feed him. Like you, I don’t understand why he is not being fed. Your Bernie is adorable and a sweetheart for sharing his food.

    Like

  6. Beautiful what you’ve done for this lovely creature – he needs you. Does he raise his ears, laying back as they are make me think he is in a very sad situation. Your Bernie is gorgeous.

    Like

    • Thanks, Mary. I’ve never seen his ears up anymore than in the first picture. And I believe he’s becoming happier because he’s learning the neighborhood and where he is and is not welcome. So when he comes here, he trots happily up to the door, knowing he’s a welcome guest. 🙂

      Like

  7. Oh that face…who could resist! Bernie looks deep in thought, he’s handsome!

    Like

  8. Elizabeth, he is so adorable! It is strange that he would show up with a collar on after having looked like that. I hope he continues his visits with you and Bernie who is also very handsome, by the way. Black Labs are one of the most beautiful dogs ever made! 🙂

    Like

  9. Congratulations on making a new friend!! 🙂 But, doesn’t Bernie look a little miffed 😀

    Like

  10. How can people do this, Elizabeth? I have no idea!
    This is just the briefest of visits. I’m throwing the washing in the airing cupboard and off to zumba but I’ll be back 🙂

    Like

  11. Hi, Johanna (or do you prefer Jo? My sister’s name is Joann and she always hated being called Jo. 🙂
    I’ve never been able to wrap my mind around anyone getting a pet and then not feeding and caring for it. I’m happy you stopped by and look forward to any return visits when you have the time.

    Like

  12. Absolutely beautiful, the nature, the dogs and their smile. It’s amazing!

    Like

“Our opinions do not really blossom into fruition until we have expressed them to someone else.” ― Mark Twain

