Elizabeth Melton Parsons

Writing~Art~Life

Bluebird Babies and Pink Eggs

30 Comments

When I saw pink eggs in my bluebird box, I thought sure tree swallows had nested there. The eggs were a beautiful, solid shade of light pink. I was never fortunate enough to catch the birds going in and out. All I saw were their heads poking out of the hole once in a while. I wish I’d taken a picture of those eggs because it wasn’t tree swallows after all. Now the eggs have hatched, I see the parents quite often. They are definitely bluebirds. I understand pink, bluebird eggs are pretty rare, thus my wish for taking the pictures. Too late now though. But I do have some pictures of the sweet babes. Sorry they’re a little fuzzy. I’m too short to reach up to take the picture and see what I’m doing at the same time.

Newborn Bluebirds

Newborn Bluebirds

Bluebirds-Newborn

Bluebirds-Newborn

Bluebird Babies-1 Week

Bluebird Babies-1 Week

Bluebird Babies-1 Week-Mouth Open

Bluebird Babies-1 Week-Mouth Open

Author: Elizabeth Melton Parsons

I'm a novelist, poet, and artist. I love books, nature, art, and gardening. I'm a rock hound and there's a photo of me with a cool fossil rock on my about page, I take a lot of nature pictures. The background here is one of mine. Unfortunately I recently lost my wonderful husband, but I'm grateful to have the blessing of two beautiful sons. elizabethmeltonparsons.wordpress.com is © Elizabeth Melton Parsons 2007-2017. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Elizabeth Melton Parsons with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

30 thoughts on “Bluebird Babies and Pink Eggs

  1. Too neat isn’t it? We have 3 nests with 15 eggs. No pink eggs though. I’m certain they are bluebirds as I see them almost hourly. Thanks!!!

    Like

  2. Oh, Elizabeth, I love this! I see Blue Birds all the time in our backyard, but I’ve never been able to get them to build a nest in the bird house. These are great photos! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    • You’re welcome, Jill. What a pity they don’t use your birdhouse. I rejoice when we have a successful nesting, hatching and flying away of the little ones. I also feel great sadness when the nesting is unsuccessful for whatever reason. Have a lovely day. 🙂

      Like

  3. I love them. Love them….

    Like

  4. Great, interesting pix! Thanks for sharing, Elizabeth.

    Like

  5. Lovely post,by mistake couple of swallows saw our pool so they build their nest under our house roof ,they thought they were in San Juan Capistrano. JMS

    Like

  6. Oh wow!! That’s awesome!! And the last photo has the timing just right! 🙂

    Like

  7. They are so adorable. I don’t think I had the occasion to see bluebirds in real life. I googled them and they are so cute. I have zebra finches and their babies are similar to the ones in the photo. 😀

    Like

  8. Nice, I love those bluebirds!

    Like

  9. I’ve never seen little baby birds in nature, which is crazy, because I have lived most of my life right next lush forests and now I live next to a bird sanctuary! Well, except for my own little baby bird, parson russell terrier Piper 🙂 I call her my baby bird all the time.

    Like

    • 😀 That’s so cute that you call your little terrier baby bird. I had a terrier mix that passed away and I always called her little girl. I live inside a National Forestry and I’ve always been a nature watcher. Where you live sounds like a wonderful place. Thanks for coming by and sharing, Laura. Have a beautiful week. 🙂

      Like

  10. Great photos, it’s really lovely to capture nature at its most innocent and beautiful…remind me to buy you some stilts for Christmas!

    Like

  11. 😀 I doubt I could stand on them now without falling over. But your comment brought back memories of a pair I had as a child. Hummm…I think I may do a post on that. Thanks Ste.

    Like

  12. I just saw your post because I found pink (rose colored) solid tiny eggs in my bluebird house on top of a mountain of twigs! When I saw the eggs I thought I’d try to identify the bird that had taken over the house. Now I think they were the rare pink colored bluebird eggs you spoke of. (No pics either) The eggs are hatched and I saw the first baby flying out tonight! Thank you for sharing your pics!

    Liked by 1 person

“Our opinions do not really blossom into fruition until we have expressed them to someone else.” ― Mark Twain

