Elizabeth Melton Parsons

Writing~Art~Life

Azaleas and Strawberries

20 Comments

I was feeling down all last week after learning of my cousin’s death so soon after losing another family member and my post yesterday reflected that. Thought I’d attempt to lighten both my mood and my blog’s with a little post on gardening and some photos. The azaleas are blooming. Always a treat. So pretty I had to snatch a couple for my nightstand.

My neighbor had a large strawberry garden that had mostly died out, but there were plants growing here and there. He very kindly told me I could dig them all and keep them. So I trudged my happy little self down there and with the help of my eldest son dug up a wheel barrow full. I do love strawberries. My dad was a strawberry farmer and having an abundance of fresh berries to eat every spring and summer is something I have really missed.

I’ve stuck the plants into containers until I get my raised bed finished. I’ve got it about half full of a mixture of compost and top soil. I didn’t realize it would take so much to fill it. The plants are blooming and have little baby berries already. I’ll have get out there today and clip all those off so they can concentrate on sending out all those little runners. They’re ever-bearing which means if they do well, I might have a few berries to eat come late summer.

azaleas-white-2

azaleas-pink

azaleas-vase-2

strawberries-2

 

Author: Elizabeth Melton Parsons

I'm a novelist, poet, and artist. I love books, nature, art, and gardening. I'm a rock hound and there's a photo of me with a cool fossil rock on my about page, I take a lot of nature pictures. The background here is one of mine. Unfortunately I recently lost my wonderful husband, but I'm grateful to have the blessing of two beautiful sons. elizabethmeltonparsons.wordpress.com is © Elizabeth Melton Parsons 2007-2017. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Elizabeth Melton Parsons with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

20 thoughts on “Azaleas and Strawberries

  1. Elizabeth: why do we bloggers always think we have to lighten the mood after writing a post that reflects our sad times?
    But be assured that many readers appreciate hearing about both the sad and the joyful times.
    Matter of fact, you inspired me to publish a story that I’ve been sitting on for some time.
    Will do so soon.
    All the best, and thanks for this post too. I enjoyed it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I guess maybe it’s because we feel like we’re pushing our sorrow onto the shoulders of others who I’m sure have plenty of troubles of their own. But you’re right, Cynthia, I want to share in both the good and the bad from the bloggers I read. Thank you for such a kind comment. I look forward to reading your future post.

    Like

  3. I’m so sorry for your recent losses, Elizabeth, but I’m so happy you shared these beautiful photos.
    I love the Azaleas in the tea cup!

    Like

  4. Elizabeth, I am so sorry for your loss of your cousin and other family member. I know this week is a sad time, but I am glad you are sharing your thoughts with us. The flowers are just beautiful and I hope they brighten up your day.
    Good luck with your strawberry patch. I have just about given up on mine this year as it is so dry here (and this is just the beginning) that I can’t seem to give them enough water.

    Like

  5. Thank you, Janell. I know what mean about the dry weather. I spend most of the summer around here watering plants. It can get so dry during the summer months. I hope your strawberries survive. 🙂

    Like

  6. I hit the send button too soon. I WISH Azalias stayed around longer then they do. You blink and they are gone. I have BRIGHT orange so don’t miss out of them when mine are blooming. BIG (((HUGS))) I pray Mother heals your Heart. Love, Amy

    Like

  7. Hi Elizabeth, I am really sorry for your losses ,for cousin and your family member. I wish all the best for you, I liked your flowers photos.

    Like

  8. I’m so sorry for your losses! I can imagine it must be so hard to take! I hope the pretty little blooms managed to brighten you up a bit! Wishing you strength during your difficult times!

    Like

  9. Such sensitive, heartfelt writing and all the more admirable in the face of personal loss.
    Stay strong, Elizabeth.

    john

    Like

  10. Beautiful azaleas… so full of life and colorful.
    Best Regards Aquileana 🙂

    Like

“Our opinions do not really blossom into fruition until we have expressed them to someone else.” ― Mark Twain

