Elizabeth Melton Parsons

Writing~Art~Life

The Eye Dancers by Michael S. Fedison

13 Comments

The Eye DancersThe Eye Dancers by Michael S. Fedison

On Amazon

Michael’s Blog

Seventh-grader Mitchell Brant and three of his classmates inexplicably wake up at the back edge of a softball field to the sounds of a game, the cheering of the crowd. None of them remembers coming here. And as they soon learn, “here” is like no place they’ve ever seen. Cars resemble antiques from the 1950s. There are no cell phones, no PCs. Even the spelling of words is slightly off.

A compulsive liar, constantly telling fantastic stories to garner attention and approval, Mitchell can only wish this were just one more of his tall tales. But it isn’t. It’s all too real. Together, as they confront unexpected and life-threatening dangers, Mitchell and his friends must overcome their bickering and insecurities to learn what happened, where they are, and how to get back home.

The answers can be found only in the mysterious little girl with the blue, hypnotic eyes. The one they had each dreamed of three nights in a row before arriving here. She is their only hope. And, as they eventually discover, they are her only hope.

And time is running out.

My Thoughts 

I had visited Mr. Fedison’s blog and was intrigued by his book, so I went to Amazon and checked it out. I wanted to read the book, but it was obviously a young adult book. I passed it up and ordered a couple of other kindle books instead. For some reason I couldn’t get the story line out of my mind even though I was sure it was too young to hold my interest. I went back to Amazon later and used the look inside feature. I was hooked.

Okay, so the book was too young for my tastes, but I’m not ashamed to say it definitely held my interest. I was so into the story that I became annoyed with only being able to read it on my kindle for pc. This really limited my reading time. Then my husband bought me the new Kindle Fire HD. I love it and now I can read anywhere I want. As for The Eye Dancers, with my new Kindle, I finished it in one day.

Thoroughly enjoyed every bit of it. Although the story line is completely different, it reminded me of A Wrinkle in Time.

I loved that these boys became friends even though they didn’t have a clue as to why they were friends. Granted they were completely different in personalities and interests, but they were all misfits in one way or another. That was their commonality, but having such diverse personalities made working together to solve their dilemma more difficult. And they desperately needed to solve it and get out of this world where they didn’t belong and back to their own.

Kudos to Mr. Fedison because not only was this an intriguing story, but also it’s one of the most skillfully written and professionally edited books I’ve read in a long time. I could definitely see this as having been one of my favorite books as a child or teen. I loved it as an adult. If you like coming of age stories, stories of family and friendship, mysteries, sci-fi, other worldly adventures…ect., I believe you’ll like The Eye Dancers, no matter your age. And if you have a child from eight to teens who likes these types of stories, they will love this book.

Author: Elizabeth Melton Parsons

I'm a novelist, poet, and artist. I love books, nature, art, and gardening. I'm a rock hound and there's a photo of me with a cool fossil rock on my about page, I take a lot of nature pictures. The background here is one of mine. Unfortunately I recently lost my wonderful husband, but I'm grateful to have the blessing of two beautiful sons. elizabethmeltonparsons.wordpress.com is © Elizabeth Melton Parsons 2007-2017. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Elizabeth Melton Parsons with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

13 thoughts on “The Eye Dancers by Michael S. Fedison

  1. Great review, Elizabeth…I’m very intrigued. It sounds like a great story. I love the title!

    Like

  2. nice and nice to meet u :D,
    follow my blog mrs , thank’s . GBU

    Like

  3. It was an interesting story wasn’t it? I quite enjoyed it as well. Really nice review.

    Like

  4. Sounds like an interesting book. Nice review of it and you definitely got me interested. One of my favorite authors is Tamora Pierce and she writes for the teen market. I still love her books and read them all the time. in fact, I am usually patiently waiting for her next book. 🙂 I refer my teen art students to her books all the time.

    Like

  5. wonderful review… now I am curious too!! 🙂

    Like

  6. Thanks so much for this wonderful review, Elizabeth! I really appreciate it, and am very glad you enjoyed The Eye-Dancers!

    Like

“Our opinions do not really blossom into fruition until we have expressed them to someone else.” ― Mark Twain

