Elizabeth Melton Parsons

Writing~Art~Life

Bathroom Renovation Saga

24 Comments

Before Reno

Before Reno-Nasty

Most of you probably remember my older post when we first began renovating our atrocious downstairs bath. If not, you can read it here – (Bath Reno). When we started I thought two, maybe three weekends tops to complete the job. HAH! I was living in never never land. As I said in my first post it started with trouble and has been nothing but since. I think every problem that could occur did. Just getting the drywall/concrete walls and ceiling out took three days. Another two days to do some electrical work and put in the new ceiling light/fan combo. And yet another three days to hang the new 1/2 inch greenboard, add another week to finish, prime and paint it. I actually thought things would be smooth sailing from this point. I was back in fantasy land.

floor-before reno

floor-before reno

It was now time to hang the hardy backerboard in the tub/shower surround. I decided to let my hubby handle this part. Once again the screws would not go into the nearly eighty year old oak studs. He had to pre-drill all the holes. He was moving right along until I threw a wrench into the works. The seams of the backer board weren’t level. I told hubby we couldn’t hang tile on that. So down came the backerboard. He shaved the studs down to make them move level and hung the stuff back up. Then I reminded him, he’d forgotten the moisture barrier. Down came the backerboard. He hung plastic and the backboard went back up. I’m glad my husband loves me because when I told him one of the box inserts he’d built was in the wrong place because of tile placement, I think he would have gladly rolled me off a cliff. But he just grunted and took the backerboard down again, rebuilt the box and put the stuff back up. And did I mention the plumbing problems? Well I won’t. UGH!!

Heinous-upper wall down

Heinous-upper wall down

By this time, my dear hubby was about to pull his hair out and he just quit. Months passed and finally I began to nag. Now honestly I’m not a nagger, but this had gone on far too long. I wanted the thing done already.  I think he realized I wasn’t going to let up. He took a personal day and with the weekend that gave us three days to get it done. First we added new shut-offs to the water lines so we wouldn’t have to turn the water off to the entire house for three days. That actually went smoothly. Then we found we didn’t have enough tile left to do the floor. I knew this would be a problem since we’d bought it on clearance. There was no where to find that exact tile. Also the budget had to be kept in mind. My husband found some on sale and brought home a couple of samples for me to choose. One light, one dark. I chose the darker tile because it complimented everything we had in there more than the light. Okay I wasn’t thrilled with having different floor tile than what was in the shower surround, but at this point I was beyond caring. I just wanted it done. And is it complete. No, but it’s 95% there. We still have to caulk the molding, put in baseboards and have the guy come to refinish the tub. I decided to keep my vintage tub for various reasons. The main one being that I like it better than the new ones I looked at. It’s longer, deeper and narrower. Perfect for bubble baths. There’s two different processes for refinishing old tubs. One is the epoxy paint method and the other is to strip the top coat of enamel and replace it. That’s the one I chose. With a twenty year warranty, as opposed to five, it was a no-brainer.  Is the bath reno perfect? Far from it, but with a budget of under a thousand dollars–I think we did great. One thing I know for certain, I never-ever want to lay or grout another piece of tile–EVER. Here’s the pictures:

New Bath

New Bath

vanity

New Vanity

shower

New Shower Head

shower tile-built ins

Tile Inserts

shower tile trim

Shower Tile and Trim

medicine cabinet and lights

New Med Cabinet and Lights

New Vent/Light

New Vent/Light

commode

New Commode

 

Author: Elizabeth Melton Parsons

I'm a novelist, poet, and artist. I love books, nature, art, and gardening. I'm a rock hound and there's a photo of me with a cool fossil rock on my about page, I take a lot of nature pictures. The background here is one of mine. Unfortunately I recently lost my wonderful husband, but I'm grateful to have the blessing of two beautiful sons. elizabethmeltonparsons.wordpress.com is © Elizabeth Melton Parsons 2007-2017. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Elizabeth Melton Parsons with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

24 thoughts on “Bathroom Renovation Saga

  1. Well, it looks as though all of the pain and suffering paid off in the end, Elizabeth. The bathroom looks beautiful! I’m impressed that you and your husband did the work yourselves and for under $1000. Nice job! You derserve a nice, long and leisury shower under that fancy shower head! 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks, Jill. It was worth it and looks so much better I find it hard to believe we did it too. 😀 Now to get that tub done so I can take that bubble bath I’ve been dreaming of. I love that shower head…showers are for getting clean, but bubble baths are for relaxing and letting your cares fall away. Have a lovely Friday.

      Like

  2. Hi Elizabeth 😀 I looked very closely and couldn’t find a picture of you in the bubble bath. Oh, well, I looked at your other pictures instead and you now have a lovely bathroom. Have a great day my friend. Ralph xoxox ❤

    Like

  3. What a fantastic makeover. Congratulations.
    xxx Huge Hugs xxx

    Like

  4. Wow!! That looks nice…though I am reminded of the first time we painted our apartment…it was just after my school-leaving exams, and I had to stay home to supervise…I swore that I would never ever let the house be painted again! 🙂

    Like

  5. Well gf I am impressed! Such a transformation, and I LOVED the tile inserts and the lighting above the mirror, great colour scheme…..give yourself (and Bud) a huge pat on the back!!!

    Like

  6. I love the sand colored walls and the beautiful and simple beach paintings, too. You did an awesome job on a very fine budget! Great post and it makes me remember my beach bathroom in my last house! I loved it, but I like your uncluttered look, mine was rather ‘busy’ in its décor! Smiles, Robin

    Like

  7. bathrooms and kitchens: such a hassle when they’re under construction. And so lovely when they’re completed. Your bathroom looks great!

    Like

  8. It’s simply beautiful.
    What a big difference!

    Like

“Our opinions do not really blossom into fruition until we have expressed them to someone else.” ― Mark Twain

