Elizabeth Melton Parsons

Writing~Art~Life

Spring Break and Art Photos

20 Comments

Went to pick up Eric for spring break Friday, so I’ll be spending time with him and won’t be around much this week. He’s leased a house with one of his friends for August. I asked him if this meant he’d be moving away from home on a more permanent basis and he said, yes. Made me sad, he won’t even be twenty yet. But then, that’s what I get for doing my best to raise him to be independent. Stupid me. On a lighter note, I visited the art museum again and although my phone doesn’t take the best pictures, I wanted to share just a small sample of my favorites with you. 🙂 There was such a glare on the sarcophagus that I could only get the head. As usual, you can click the images for much larger versions. See ya!

Music Instrument-Primitive

Music Instrument-Primitive

Sarcophagus Head

Sarcophagus Head

Roman Empire Tile

Roman Empire Tile

Monet-2

Monet

Claude Monet

Claude Monet

Madonna Sculpture

Madonna Sculpture

Jackson Pollack

Jackson Pollack

Abstract-2

Abstract-2

Abstract

Abstract

3-D-2

3-D-2

3-D

3-D

Thornton Dial Piece

Thornton Dial Piece

Author: Elizabeth Melton Parsons

I'm a novelist, poet, and artist. I love books, nature, art, and gardening. I'm a rock hound and there's a photo of me with a cool fossil rock on my about page, I take a lot of nature pictures. The background here is one of mine. Unfortunately I recently lost my wonderful husband, but I'm grateful to have the blessing of two beautiful sons. elizabethmeltonparsons.wordpress.com is © Elizabeth Melton Parsons 2007-2017. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Elizabeth Melton Parsons with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

20 thoughts on “Spring Break and Art Photos

  1. Aw, I’m sure Eric will visit his momma often. 🙂 Be happy, some kids who aren’t so independent, never move out or they’re boomerangs…leave home for college and come back after graduation.
    Great photos, Elizabeth! Love the Monet!

    Like

  2. Hope you have a great week ahead! 🙂

    Like

  3. Blimey, those abstracts don’t lack colour do they. Have a nice break Elizabeth and rejoice in the fact you obviously did a great job with Eric. I’m sure you’ll see each other often though.
    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

    Like

  4. Have a great week with your son. I know how you feel, my daughter is pretty independent at 19 and is heading to Chicago in a few months. It’s hard to let them go, even though that is what we want for them. 🙂

    Like

  5. Hi Elizabeth- lovely post . As a mother of 4 and grand parent of seven , I can assure you that Eric will probably return home more than once. We had a revolving door. Just as we were getting used to and beginning to even enjoy being empty nesters one of our offspring would return home, sometimes alone sometimes with a dog ,once with a boyfriend and a couple returned with a husband and kids. At one time we had two families living with us, one due to financial issues and one because of house renovations.
    Enjoy your quiet time and enjoy your family.

    Like

  6. I liked that you have a variety of artwork in these photos. I like the carved instrument and also, like Jill, always love Monet! Finding the balance between letting go and staying in touch, was my challenge with my children when they left for college or moving away. I think you are an excellent parent, in the way your describe your feelings, Elizabeth. He definitely seems ‘young’ to be on his own, but I am sure that he will include you and ask for advice, too. We all need people to relate to, you are one of those who shares openly! Smiles, Robin

    Like

  7. Thank you, Robin. You’re so sweet. 🙂 He did ask me for advice about the house and what he should do. I told him my opinion about the different houses and ask him to be sure it’s what he wants before doing anything, but like I told him, it has to be his decision. I have been through this before with my oldest, but it’s harder this time because he’s my youngest and was always such a huge help to me. I’ll get over it though. As long as he’s happy, I’m happy. Have a beautiful day!

    Like

  8. You can never have enough visits to museums!

    Like

  9. One of the ‘joys’ of parenthood, looking forward to their visits.

    Like

  10. It always seems as if we were more grown up when WE were the same ages as our children, when they leave. LOLOLOL They seem so young and unprepared. We, of course, were completely in control and knew everything, when we were their age. LOLOL Sigh. Some things never change….no matter how old they, or we, get. 🙂 I raised my kids to be independent and stand on their own two fee as well. I’m so happy that I did.

    Like

“Our opinions do not really blossom into fruition until we have expressed them to someone else.” ― Mark Twain

