Elizabeth Melton Parsons

Writing~Art~Life

The Good The Bad and The Ugly

15 Comments

Wow, the month of February has been quite a roller coaster ride around here. The good is that we warmed up considerably for a few days, even reached 72 one day. I didn’t think anything could melt those eight inches of petrified ice on my driveway, but it’s gone. In fact all the snow and ice is gone with the exception of a few spots here and there. The bad is that as usual with a warm up comes wind and rain. Lots of wind and rain. And the ugly is that the tornado sirens were blaring the other night, as we were under tornado warnings. Nothing happened, other than a few smaller tree limbs came down. I was so happy for the warmer temps even tornadoes were unable to dampen my enthusiasm. My brother had major surgery last week and Saturday hubby and I made the two hour trip to the hospital. It was a glorious day. My brother was doing well, the sun was shining and it was 63 degrees. Unfortunately, as they say, all good things must come to an end. It was snowing again last night, but just as it began to accumulate, it stopped. So there’s still bare ground out there, but the cold is definitely back. Here’s a few photos from February. Look at the first one. I found these sedum coming up under all that ice.

Early Sedum

Early Sedum

Feb Crescent Moon

Feb Crescent Moon

Feb Full Moon

Feb Full Moon

Author: Elizabeth Melton Parsons

I'm a novelist, poet, and artist. I love books, nature, art, and gardening. I'm a rock hound and there's a photo of me with a cool fossil rock on my about page, I take a lot of nature pictures. The background here is one of mine. Unfortunately I recently lost my wonderful husband, but I'm grateful to have the blessing of two beautiful sons. elizabethmeltonparsons.wordpress.com is © Elizabeth Melton Parsons 2007-2017. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Elizabeth Melton Parsons with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

15 thoughts on “The Good The Bad and The Ugly

  1. oh its so nice to see Spring Springing 🙂

    Like

  2. I’m glad to hear your brother is doing well, Elizabeth. Hang in there, spring begins in a little over 3 weeks. Beautiful photos! I remember when I was little I always thought the crescent moon looked like a fingernail in the sky. 🙂

    Like

  3. Hello “slightly mad redhead” 😀 (well, I just read that on your sidebar Elizabeth !!)

    I am so pleased for you that spring is here for you. I have never really had a winter here in southern Spain this year, but anything can happen yet.

    Ralph xox 😀

    Like

  4. The first shot of the moon is awesome, Elizabeth! 🙂

    Like

  5. Love the photos as usual. Wish I had your talent. Hope your brother feels better and that weather improves and remains stable. I have not had much time to blog or write because of the influx of family and friends coming to Florida to escape the bitter cold, ice and snow of Toronto.

    Like

  6. It was a glorious day. My brother was doing well, the sun was shining and it was 63 degrees. ..
    Beautiful gifts from God’s hand! I love your pics. Borrowed your crescent moon for ATT.
    Let’s hope for a mild March 🙂

    Like

  7. I pray that your brother continues doing well.

    Like

“Our opinions do not really blossom into fruition until we have expressed them to someone else.” ― Mark Twain

