Elizabeth Melton Parsons

Writing~Art~Life

Cornbread and Sausage Stuffing-Two Easy Recipes

11 Comments

cornbread stuffing

One of the things my family loves most about Thanksgiving dinner is the stuffing. I make my grandma’s giblet stuffing and my version of my mom’s cornbread stuffing. My oldest son loves his great grandma’s stuffing so much he even wants it at Christmas with ham. The recipe for that one is on here somewhere in the archives.

Here’s my mom’s easy cornbread and sausage stuffing and then my own. Mine is for people with very little time or those who hate to cook or maybe just truly lazy like myself. 😉 They’re both good and can be jazzed up with anything you want to add.

Ingredients (Mom’s version)

1 large pan of stale cornbread cut into small cubes (about 1 ¾ lbs)

1 lb. sweet Italian sausage (remove casings)

1 ½ cups water or chicken broth

1 tbsp. butter

2 cups chopped onions

2 cups chopped celery

½ tsp. salt

¼ tsp. pepper

1 or 2 tbsp. dried sage

2 Granny Smith apples – peeled, cored and diced

½ – 1 cup plumped raisins (optional)

 Directions

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Spray a 9×13 pan with cooking spray. Brown sausage in skillet until brown, add onions, celery, and apples. Cook until tender. Transfer to large bowl and add the salt, pepper, sage, raisins and cornbread cubes.  Bring the water/broth and butter to a boil and pour onto cornbread mixture. Mix gently and put into the baking pan. Bake until heated through, about 25 minutes. Serve warm.

 Ingredients (my very easy version)

2 boxes Stovetop Cornbread stuffing mix (or any other brand you like)

1 lb. Tennessee Pride hot sausage (I like it spicy but you can use whatever kind you like)

1 or two cups dried cranberries

 Directions

Crumble the sausage in a skillet with a tiny bit of olive oil and cook, stirring with a wooden spoon until browned. Set aside. Make the stuffing mix according to package directions. Stir the sausage and dried cranberries into stuffing mixture. Pour into an oiled pan that will hold it. Bake in a 375-degree oven until heated through. I usually add a little extra water when making the mix because my family likes moist stuffing.

Author: Elizabeth Melton Parsons

I'm a novelist, poet, and artist. I love books, nature, art, and gardening. I'm a rock hound and there's a photo of me with a cool fossil rock on my about page, I take a lot of nature pictures. The background here is one of mine. Unfortunately I recently lost my wonderful husband, but I'm grateful to have the blessing of two beautiful sons. elizabethmeltonparsons.wordpress.com is © Elizabeth Melton Parsons 2007-2017. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Elizabeth Melton Parsons with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

11 thoughts on “Cornbread and Sausage Stuffing-Two Easy Recipes

  1. That looks delicious, Elizabeth! Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family!

    Like

  2. Good one Liza, now I’m starving hungry!!! lol enjoy both the food and the holiday…Happy thanksgiving 🙂

    Like

  3. You cannot mention the word ‘Sausages’ without awakening my appetite

    Like

  4. yum. what time shall we come over? tony

    Like

“Our opinions do not really blossom into fruition until we have expressed them to someone else.” ― Mark Twain

