Elizabeth Melton Parsons

Writing~Art~Life

Mystery Solved-Maybe? Capacitance Electronic Disc

10 Comments

After I told Eric what I thought this was (movie laser disc), he did some more research and found what it truly is or at least, it’s the closet thing we can find to it. It’s more than likely a CED or Capacitance Electronic Disc. This is also a movie disc, an analog video disc playback system developed by RCA.  The video and audio could be played back on a TV set using a special needle and high-density groove system similar to phonograph records. If you’re interested you can find more information here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Capacitance_Electronic_Disc So I guess the mystery is solved. I’d still be interested in knowing what the movie is, but not likely to ever know.

record1

Author: Elizabeth Melton Parsons

I'm a novelist, poet, and artist. I love books, nature, art, and gardening. I'm a rock hound and there's a photo of me with a cool fossil rock on my about page, I take a lot of nature pictures. The background here is one of mine. Unfortunately I recently lost my wonderful husband, but I'm grateful to have the blessing of two beautiful sons. elizabethmeltonparsons.wordpress.com is © Elizabeth Melton Parsons 2007-2017. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Elizabeth Melton Parsons with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

10 thoughts on “Mystery Solved-Maybe? Capacitance Electronic Disc

  1. You might find a Museum of 20th Century that has the machine for playing these. If there’s one nearby maybe they’d let you try? It would be fascinating to find out. Maybe RCA retain one and would let you send it to be tested?
    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

    Like

  2. I’m glad the mystery is solved. Thanks for the update, Elizabeth!

    Like

  3. You can check the upc matrix on the disc and check the catalog to see what disc it is and as for these being called CDE it is the other way around it is CED.

    Like

“Our opinions do not really blossom into fruition until we have expressed them to someone else.” ― Mark Twain

