Elizabeth Melton Parsons

Writing~Art~Life

Chrome Malware Warning

21 Comments

malware warning Those of you who have Google Chrome probably already know that my blog was blocked by Chrome with a big malware warning page. It took me nearly three days to get this fixed. There was never any malware here on my blog.

When I first saw that my blog was blocked by Chrome, I ran some checkers to see what the problem was and how bad it was. I checked it on Google Webmaster Tools. It came back clear. I then had the entire blog scanned by a few more checkers and it still came back as clear. So if my site was clean, why had it been blocked?

According to the warning message the problem was with a specific site I’d linked to. I won’t put the name here for fear Chrome will zap me again. But I didn’t recognize the site and knew I’d never downloaded anything from there. I thought perhaps it was from one of the ads put on here by WordPress. But nope, that wasn’t the problem.

It was a picture I’d used from the web. Now I almost always add pictures to my blog in two different ways. I upload my own photo which has been scanned by my PC’s antivirus/antimalware software or I save a public domain or free picture from the web to my personal files which is then scanned by the same software. That way I know it’s a clean image. Sometimes I will borrow a picture which requires a link back to where I got it. This is never a problem because I still save it to my files and manually add a link so that I know exactly where that link is going.

A while back, I was in a hurry and to save time I did something I normally will never do. That’s how we get into trouble–trying to do something when we’re rushed. Dummy me, I used their code to add the picture here. The site where I got the photo wasn’t the problem though. It was the link from the photo, which was a different site than where I got the photo. I found the post and a couple of links and deleted them. Unfortunately that didn’t solve the problem. The warning persisted. I even posted for help on WordPress help forums. In the meantime, all the sites I went to looking for help said I’d have to request Google to do another scan of my site to get the warning removed. But Google won’t let you do that unless your site is actually flagged as containing malware or distributing it or whatever. Mine had not been flagged-only blocked because it did not have malware, it only had a link to a flagged site.

To wrap this up, I finally found a site (on the WordPress forums) that offered a free scan to flush out the problem links. I thought this was a waste of time since I’d already deleted the links. But as it turns out, these links were sneaky. There were actually four links in the html. I’d only deleted the ones on the visual editor. The others weren’t visible except by looking at the post with the editor showing the html. Once I’d deleted them and cleared my Chrome history and cookies, the warning went away and my site was unblocked. After losing two nights sleep working on this I was ecstatic to finally solve it. Just wanted to let everyone know that my site is not and was not infected with anything and I am not a scummy malware pusher. And a big thank you to the lady who answered my question on the forums. Although I’d already solved the problem, she was dead on right with her answer. Have a great day and be careful adding your photos and links. Love and hugs, Elizabeth

Author: Elizabeth Melton Parsons

I'm a novelist, poet, and artist. I love books, nature, art, and gardening. I'm a rock hound and there's a photo of me with a cool fossil rock on my about page, I take a lot of nature pictures. The background here is one of mine. Unfortunately I recently lost my wonderful husband, but I'm grateful to have the blessing of two beautiful sons. elizabethmeltonparsons.wordpress.com is © Elizabeth Melton Parsons 2007-2017. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Elizabeth Melton Parsons with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

21 thoughts on “Chrome Malware Warning

  1. My goodness that sounds like a real nightmare. Hats off to you for fixing it at all, I get spam comments, of course, and I just delete them but If one offered something tempting like, “A new approach to cheese sandwiches” who knows what might happen. I suppose some clever horror could hack into your blog and put stuff there, but however it got in, you’ve done brilliantly to get rid of it

    Like

  2. Good to know…it’ll save me from potential problems. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  3. How scary and annoying for you Elizabeth. I wonder if that photo has been deleted on Google Search. I doubt it !! Ralph xox ::D

    Like

  4. Thanks for the info…I hate dealing with computer/program problems.

    Like

  5. OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOHHHHH!!! And all this time I just thought you were evil.

    Like

  6. Just think of all you have now learned which may also help others 🙂

    Like

  7. I certainly hope it does help other bloggers out there, Deb. While I was researching an answer to the problem, there seemed to be hundreds of other bloggers and site owners looking for a solution too. So I suppose it happens pretty often, unfortunately. Hope you’re doing well, my friend. Hugs, Liza

    Like

  8. Well, good to have you back, and I know exactly whom to turn to for help, if I get affected by these Malwares! 🙂

    Like

  9. That’s very concerning! Well done for flushing out the bad links and getting it unblocked. I’m sure though your fright wasn’t quite as bad as that of the guy who opened the door and there was the police – because his daughter had, as a joke, posted something about a bomb on Facebook.

    Like

“Our opinions do not really blossom into fruition until we have expressed them to someone else.” ― Mark Twain

