Elizabeth Melton Parsons

Writing~Art~Life

My House is a Disaster

16 Comments

Walls Coming Down

Walls Coming Down

I said in my last post that we’d be working on the house over the Labor Day weekend. Boy, I wasn’t kidding. Work, work and more work. The problem is we don’t seem to be getting very far. When they built these old houses, they did it right, which makes undoing it a very big chore. My tiny downstairs bathroom is turning into a nightmare. It took three days just to get the ceiling and walls down. It was a real shame we had to take them down because they were very sturdy. Drywall board was a brand new product when this house was built and they used the drywall board, but they also covered the walls floor and ceiling with a half inch of concrete. I’d never have knocked them down if we hadn’t had a mildew problem. It was growing everywhere so a gut job was necessary.

Now I have drywall dust everywhere. I’m constantly mopping the floors in the main part of the house, but every time anyone walks through the other part of the house, the white footprints are back. Both downstairs bedrooms and the hallway are crammed with construction supplies. It may take a month to finish this job. I do have the painting of my porch foundation almost completed. Worked two days just scraping the thing. So if I’m not around much, you’ll know what I’m doing. I’ll be stopping by to visit you guys as time allows. Bye for now. Be happy. I’m trying to be. 🙂

Walls Coming Down

Walls Coming Down

Bare Floors

Bare Floors

Wall Board Going Up

Wall Board Going Up

More Drywall UP

More Drywall UP

Looking Good

Looking Good

Ceiling Fan In

Ceiling Fan In

Author: Elizabeth Melton Parsons

I'm a novelist, poet, and artist. I love books, nature, art, and gardening. I'm a rock hound and there's a photo of me with a cool fossil rock on my about page, I take a lot of nature pictures. The background here is one of mine. Unfortunately I recently lost my wonderful husband, but I'm grateful to have the blessing of two beautiful sons. elizabethmeltonparsons.wordpress.com is © Elizabeth Melton Parsons 2007-2017. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Elizabeth Melton Parsons with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

16 thoughts on “My House is a Disaster

  1. All the best with all the destruction and construction!! 🙂

    Like

  2. It will look much better when the hard work will be over and contruction ready 😉

    Like

  3. I run a plumbing company (which my grandfather started in 1922, by the way). We do big jobs, but we do smaller remodeling jobs, as well. So I was very interest to read about and see your project. My suggestion? Take a vacation. Or move into a hotel for a month. Or move in with family/friends. Anything. Like the making of laws or sausage, remodeling anything at home is something you don’t want to watch. Ah, progress. And keep your eye on the joy of the end result!

    Like

  4. Wow, you have been busy. One day soon, you’ll be able to sit back and enjoy the fruits of your labor…good luck!

    Like

  5. I removed a wall once….. Then the home owner came home and got really made at me.

    Like

  6. bathroom renovations are major projects. I do not envy you. Mine needs to be done too and I have put it off for years!
    good luck, Eddie

    Like

  7. I think you are wise to go all the way and get it done right. It’s going to be an awesome bathroom when you are done. I admire that you are trying to “be happy.” Reno work in one’s living space is testy at best…

    Blessings ~ Wendy

    Like

    • Hi, Wendy. Nice to hear from you. Had to go online this morning to look at paint colors. My hubby and I are at odds on this one. 😉 Now the drywall is all up and taped in, we are feeling a little better about actually finishing the job. Thanks so much for coming by. Have a beautiful week. 🙂

      Like

  8. Pingback: Bathroom Renovation Saga | Elizabeth Melton Parsons

“Our opinions do not really blossom into fruition until we have expressed them to someone else.” ― Mark Twain

