Elizabeth Melton Parsons

Writing~Art~Life

Blogging and Why I Love Like Buttons

30 Comments

 

Like Me I was visiting lovely writer Jill Weatherholt the other day and she had a post on being ‘blogged down’. Reading her thoughts got me to thinking. (Dangerous, I know) With the writing of this new book of mine, I won’t have the time I’ve had recently to do the blog thing. Thus, I was thinking of making a schedule to control when I post and when I visit other blogs and websites. But I truly don’t want to do that.

 

I’m not fond of schedules, which is why my posts and visiting habits are pretty spontaneous and I like it that way. If I told myself I’d have to post every Wednesday or whatever, it would lose the spontaneity. And in that loss, it would cease to be fun for me. This blog is personal. I post my thoughts, my art, my photos, my poetry and other poets. I vent from time to time and I might even post a promotion for my work, but it’s all about the moment and what I feel like doing. It’s a condensed version of my life. I want to keep it that way. That’s also how I visit others. And when I’m in a time crunch and I want to leave a calling card to let you know I was there, but don’t have time to comment, I hit like and move on to the next blog.

 

A couple of weeks ago I visited a blog recommended to me by an acquaintance. I wasn’t enamored. In fact, it kind of put me off, so I doubt I’ll make a return visit. It was all about dissing other bloggers. And not just for spelling and grammar, but everything. Unfortunately it was an extremely popular blog with hundreds of comments on all the posts. Pretty nasty comments. Sad. Now some of the blogs I follow will disrespect other bloggers in a humorous, you’re a goof, but I love you kind of way. This was not like that. This was vicious. And one of the things hit on was ‘like buttons’. Obviously there are some bloggers who hate like buttons. They won’t have them on their blogs and hate them on other blogs.

 

Me, I LOVE them. I know spammers can use them. I don’t care. Thankfully I’ve only had one spammer on mine. Until recently I never had like buttons on my blog. If you visit my older posts, you’ll see that there aren’t any likes or very few. Some visitors may have stumbled onto something in the archives and liked it. (If so, thank you) I activated them here because I realized it would make it easy for my visitors to say hello. Like all of you, I’m busy, very busy. This means I’m always in somewhat of a time crunch. Like buttons allow me to let you know I visited and enjoyed your thoughts without taking up too much time. They also allow me to see some of my visitors and offer me a time saving way of returning your visit. Plus when I see your icons on my post it makes me happy. 🙂

 

When you follow hundreds of blogs like I do, time saving is important. That’s why I love like buttons and that’s why they’re here to stay. What do you think? For or against them?

Author: Elizabeth Melton Parsons

I'm a novelist, poet, and artist. I love books, nature, art, and gardening. I'm a rock hound and there's a photo of me with a cool fossil rock on my about page, I take a lot of nature pictures. The background here is one of mine. Unfortunately I recently lost my wonderful husband, but I'm grateful to have the blessing of two beautiful sons. elizabethmeltonparsons.wordpress.com is © Elizabeth Melton Parsons 2007-2017. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Elizabeth Melton Parsons with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

30 thoughts on “Blogging and Why I Love Like Buttons

  1. Wow, Elizabeth, I had no idea they’re bully blogs out there. I’ve been fortunate not to stumble across any so far. It makes you wonder why people have to be so mean.

    I like the “like” button. What I don’t like about it is when people click it without ever reading the post. I never “like” without reading. Thanks so much for mentioning my blog, Elizabeth! Have a great week!

    Like

    • You are fortunate, there are quite a few of those kinds of blogs. Or at least there used to be. That’s the only one I’ve come across for quite some time. How do you figure out someone is liking without reading? Guess I’m dumb cause I haven’t been able to tell. Thanks, Jill, and you have a nice week too.

      Like

      • When I’m in WP Reader and a new post appears, it can be a really long post and someone will like it and then go on to like the next one that appears seconds later. There’s no way they can read them that fast. I hope that makes sense.

        Like

  2. I’m a big fan of the Like button too. An easy way to say “Hi, I read your post and enjoyed it but either don’t have time to comment, or don’t have much to say”

    Like

  3. This post is very likable, as is this blog, and I’m betting the blogger exceeds expectations too. Cheers!

    Like

  4. I absolutely agree Elizabeth and I’m a massive fan of the ‘like’ button for exactly the reasons that you mention. Great post.

    Like

  5. You are a realist, my friend. May God bless your little heart.

    Like

  6. Time Nazi here: Yes on the Like icon.

    Like

  7. Lovely post ,enjoyed reading it.Thank you for stopping by.My regards.jalal

    Like

  8. I love the like button, and it always puts a smile on my face when someone “likes” one of my posts. I also like the reader, I follow a lot of picture a day blogs who only post one picture in their blogs so the reader certainly lets me see their posts more quickly. I agree with the other comments, I enjoy following a lot of blogs, but I don’t always have the time to comment. 🙂

    Like

    • I’m honored that you took time from your busy day to comment on mine, Janell. 🙂 And I too follow a lot of art and photography blogs with just a picture and no or very few words, so I’ve decided to use my reader more. I also follow quite a few by email and love it when the entire post is there where I can read it. Then if I click like or comment, it takes me straight to the blog. A real time saver, but it sure clogs up my inbox. Bless you, Janell.

      Like

  9. You are spot on Elizabeth😊

    Like

  10. Excellent post, congrats! 🙂

    @ Jill W and Elizabeth, I entirely agree with you, young ladies about the like button… 🙂 Btw, I did mention about it here:
    http://balauru.wordpress.com/about/
    N.B. Our new playground is an international “melting pot” with NO “elitist” claims or snobbish targets, it’s NOT a Nobel prize race, it’s a fun and a relaxing spot! 🙂 NO traffic or commercial purposes, NO ads and NO awards! If you do read and really enjoy a post, we’ll be happy to hear from you, via your comment(s), so NO fake or automatical “likes”, please! 🙂
    – – –
    P.S. It seems there’s a WP option that generates immediate and automatical “likes” a few seconds after a post is edited! So those “traffic hunters”(LOL!) don’t even read the title of your article! 😀
    – – –
    Sunny greetings from France, have a peaceful weekend and my very best… Mélanie

    Like

    • Hi, Melanie. Thanks for stopping by. Love your site. I have never seen the WP option for automatic likes. Although that probably would have bothered me a few years ago, I’ve learned to not sweat the small stuff. So if anyone wants to automatically like my stuff, it’s fine with me. Since I don’t have hundreds of likes, I don’t think anyone is doing that. Most of my likes come from a pretty loyal following and I love them all. They’ve become like family to me. Hope you have a joy filled and peaceful weekend.

      Like

  11. There are so many people out there who are so critical. It makes you wonder how they manage to survive such a miserable existence. I, too, like the Like button for the same reasons you mention. I was always taught, if you can’t say something good about someone, don’t say anything at all. Hmm. That gives me an idea for my next post!

    Like

  12. I love the like buttons. It’s encouraging when someone likes something you write. People who are very busy with a novel may not like taking the time to comment and pushing that like button is a quick way of them showing they appreciate what you have written and enjoyed reading it. I do this often and on some occasions I’m so impressed that I have to take time to leave a short comment. Well done you!

    Like

“Our opinions do not really blossom into fruition until we have expressed them to someone else.” ― Mark Twain

