Elizabeth Melton Parsons

Writing~Art~Life

My Little Old Cottage and Flowers

10 Comments

I love a cottage and I especially love my little cottage. It’s a 1938 Sears Tudor and needs so much work it makes me dizzy when I think of all the things that need doing. Since it’s on the historic registry for the county, we can’t change anything about it any more than 20%. But that’s okay with me. I thinks it’s charming and don’t want to change it. I just want to get done what needs doing. We’ve done a ton of work already, but need to do a hundred ton more. 😦 Even so I think it’s charming. If you’ve never heard of a Sears home, you can go here to read about them. http://www.searsarchives.com/homes/ Ours is a Lewiston with a reverse floor plan and all brick. I didn’t know it was a Sears home until after we’d purchased it and the original owners’s son told me. I’m a lover of all things vintage and anything to do with history, so learning my home was on the county historic registry was very cool. 🙂

Sears 1930 Catalogue

Our Little Cottage

Our Little Cottage

Our Home-Autumn

Our Home-Autumn

Our Home

Our Home

Cottage - Side

Cottage – Side

Cottage - Front

Cottage – Front

Kitchen Window Box

Kitchen Window Box

Dining Room Window Box

Dining Room Window Box

Purple Pansy

Purple Pansy

Pink Spirea

Pink Spirea

Bench Garden

Bench Garden

Light Purple Iris

Light Purple Iris

Pansies

Pansies

Dwarf Cockscomb

Dwarf Cockscomb

Bench - Spirea

Bench – Spirea

Author: Elizabeth Melton Parsons

I'm a novelist, poet, and artist. I love books, nature, art, and gardening. I'm a rock hound and there's a photo of me with a cool fossil rock on my about page, I take a lot of nature pictures. The background here is one of mine. Unfortunately I recently lost my wonderful husband, but I'm grateful to have the blessing of two beautiful sons. elizabethmeltonparsons.wordpress.com is © Elizabeth Melton Parsons 2007-2017. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Elizabeth Melton Parsons with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

10 thoughts on “My Little Old Cottage and Flowers

  1. such a beautiful cottage!! must be so much fun, staying there 🙂

    Like

  2. Lovely cottage ,porch and garden , has been a dream of mine to stay in one , …too many novels , i guess !

    Like

  3. Fabulous photos! I love your little cottage 🙂

    Like

  4. So lovely and special to live in a quaint cottage that has such beautiful flowers! You are blessed!

    Like

“Our opinions do not really blossom into fruition until we have expressed them to someone else.” ― Mark Twain

