Elizabeth Melton Parsons

Writing~Art~Life

Shoes, Shoes and the Incredible Shrinking Feet

5 Comments

Okay, this is a sillier than silly post, but we all must be silly from time to time. I’ve always loved shoes, which is strange because I hate wearing them. I love going around without shoes, but I still love shoes. I especially love vintage shoes and have collected quite a few pairs of vintage designer or just cool shoes over the years. This is no small task considering how difficult it is to find good quality vintage shoes for a price I’m willing to pay. So it breaks my heart that I can no longer wear most of them. Enter the incredible shrinking feet. That’s right, my feet are shrinking. When I first got married, I wore a size six, after my first child I had to have a size seven and after my second, I went to a size eight. And that’s where I’ve been ever since. That is until this year. Now I’m back to a seven and have no shoes to wear. Poor me and poor everyone who must look at my big, ugly bare feet. My darling hubby, says this is a good thing because now I get to go shoe shopping. NO…because I have to go buy ‘new’ shoes. I like vintage and when looking around for good vintage shoes, especially those from the 1940’s (my favorite), I couldn’t believe what they are bringing. I refuse to pay those kind of prices for what are essentially used shoes. Thankfully I can still wear my boots and sneakers with heavy socks.  If anyone knows of a good and not pricey, online, vintage shoe shop, let me know in the comments. Thanks.

my favorite Cole Haan Loafers

my favorite Cole Haan Loafers

my favorite eel skin pumps

my favorite eel skin pumps

my incredible shrinking foot

my incredible shrinking foot

Author: Elizabeth Melton Parsons

I'm a novelist, poet, and artist. I love books, nature, art, and gardening. I'm a rock hound and there's a photo of me with a cool fossil rock on my about page, I take a lot of nature pictures. The background here is one of mine. Unfortunately I recently lost my wonderful husband, but I'm grateful to have the blessing of two beautiful sons. elizabethmeltonparsons.wordpress.com is © Elizabeth Melton Parsons 2007-2017. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Elizabeth Melton Parsons with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

5 thoughts on “Shoes, Shoes and the Incredible Shrinking Feet

  1. I love that your second toe is longer than your first! Join the Club, and I am NOT ALONE.. YAY!!… *giggling*….

    You have really nice feet 🙂 They look, looked after! I really like open toed shoes, I love your eel skin.. wait.. ‘eel skin’ – as in REAL eel skin shoes? I like the shoes, though not sure that I’d wear them if they were really made out of eel skin.. lol *shudders*…

    Oh also, my feet are about 12.5 US womens sizes, so they might not fit either.. lol

    The loafers are lovely too, though I personally wouldn’t wear them to prevent squish of my long toes – http://misslouella.wordpress.com/2013/05/06/a-little-bit-toey/

    I have quite a few shoe sites I like to frequent, so if I come across some reasonably priced vintages, I’ll be sure to return with links 🙂

    Like

    • LOL…I enjoyed your comment. Made me laugh. Thanks for the compliment on my feet. The longer second toe is a family thing. Parents, all the kids and grandkids have them. Someone told me years ago ago that in some countries long ago it was considered a sign of royalty. Made me giggle. But who knows maybe you are royalty too. 😉 The shoes are a US size 8 and yes, that is real eel skin. Thanks for stopping by and yes, come back with links if you find any shoe prospects. 🙂 Elizabeth

      Like

  2. Luv the loafers , looking forward to a post featuring your shoe collection , can’t resist shoes , scarves and handbags .

    Like

  3. Poor you! I love 1940s shoes and clothes as well. I did once go through a phase of making my own shoes (only up to very gentle outdoor wear, but they were heeled). It was great as I covered them with fabric and then made a dress to match. I think with four little children those days are in my past but perhaps when I retire!

    Like

“Our opinions do not really blossom into fruition until we have expressed them to someone else.” ― Mark Twain

