Elizabeth Melton Parsons

Writing~Art~Life

Prom Night and Sentimentality

6 Comments

Tonight is senior prom night for my son and of course as all mothers do, I worry. It’s one messy evening. Going to rain all night, which increases the worry of accidents. But I’ve put my worries aside or at least pushed them over enough to make room for the excitement of seeing my son taking part in one of the last rituals of high school. In a few weeks it will be graduation, an important milestone to be sure. Makes me feel a little blue. My boy is a boy no more, he’s now a man. A man I can be proud of, but I’ll sure miss the little boy he was. In the fall he’ll be going off to college, a grand new adventure for him. Thinking about him leaving home for first time again fills me with both excitement and dread. I’ve been through all this before, but it somehow seems worse this time around. I suppose all parents feel the same when it’s their youngest.  Time has gotten away from me. I never expected the years to fall away so swiftly. Seems only yesterday he was five years old, running into the house wearing a huge grin and proudly handing me a bouquet of dandelions. He’s going to be an environmental scientist and after college he wants to join the Peace Corps for a while. So although I’ll miss him more than I ever thought possible, there’s a certain feeling of pride in seeing your little boy grow into a responsible young man who wants to make a difference in the world.

eric-jason

eric-baby-cropbaby Eric-sm

buster-eric

erichat30Eric-Melton-SeniorEric-senior prom-2013-sm-4

Author: Elizabeth Melton Parsons

I'm a novelist, poet, and artist. I love books, nature, art, and gardening. I'm a rock hound and there's a photo of me with a cool fossil rock on my about page, I take a lot of nature pictures. The background here is one of mine. Unfortunately I recently lost my wonderful husband, but I'm grateful to have the blessing of two beautiful sons. elizabethmeltonparsons.wordpress.com is © Elizabeth Melton Parsons 2007-2017. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Elizabeth Melton Parsons with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

6 thoughts on “Prom Night and Sentimentality

  1. Oh Liza, in between the tears of “change”, there is some real joy and I just know, it will all be fine 🙂

    Like

  2. he is a handsome young man! hope he had lots of fun 🙂

    Like

  3. This is a wonderful tribute to your handsome son! Congratulations on his graduation.

    Blessings ~ Wendy

    Like

“Our opinions do not really blossom into fruition until we have expressed them to someone else.” ― Mark Twain

