Elizabeth Melton Parsons

Writing~Art~Life

Mom’s Day – Painting and Story

11 Comments

Mom-Acrylic on Wood

Mom-Acrylic on Wood

Dad was an avid gardener and roses were his specialty. Every spring he’d order new exotic specimens, put them in the ground and tend them like new-born babies. So it’s pretty clear where I got my love of gardening and my love of roses. Mom was a totally different creature when it came to gardening. She loved pink roses, but to my knowledge, never grew a single rose plant.

Mom’s old fashion perennials, sweet peas, wild flowers, weeds and grasses all grew together in wild abandon–like an over grown meadow in full bloom. This penchant for wild gardens showed me a side of Mom not easily discernable. A long buried yearning to be as free as the wild things she grew–a longing to throw off the restrictions of society and just be herself.

I was a pretty wild tomboy growing up and often wondered how Mom managed to put up with me. A lady who never left the house without changing her dress and putting on lipstick–who tried desperately to teach me to be a lady. A woman who never smoked, drank or uttered a curse word and yet, the two of us were close–having a special bond. Although she tried valiantly to teach me proper behavior, I believe she took great pleasure in the fact that I was more like her free flowing wild garden than Dad’s well tended specimens.

When you pull into my drive and step up to the side door leading into my kitchen, there’s a Bleeding Heart bush growing along the foundation, just as there always was at Mom’s. In that same bed you will find hostas, wild daisies I dug up from along a country lane, strawberries, and numerous other plants, both wild and cultivated varieties–all growing in a disorganized, yet somehow, beautiful mess. If Mom were still here, she’d look at that flower garden and say, “That’s my girl.”

Happy Mother’s day to all the mother’s out there and may your gardens and your lives bloom with beautiful abundance.

 

 

 

Author: Elizabeth Melton Parsons

I'm a novelist, poet, and artist. I love books, nature, art, and gardening. I'm a rock hound and there's a photo of me with a cool fossil rock on my about page, I take a lot of nature pictures. The background here is one of mine. Unfortunately I recently lost my wonderful husband, but I'm grateful to have the blessing of two beautiful sons. elizabethmeltonparsons.wordpress.com is © Elizabeth Melton Parsons 2007-2017. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Elizabeth Melton Parsons with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

11 thoughts on “Mom’s Day – Painting and Story

  1. Like your mom mine has passed but there are many times and moments that I remember her during the year. She was a dear lady I was with until her last breath.
    Thank you for writing this excellent reminder of just how precious these memories are.
    Eddie

    Like

  2. Liza this post is truly beautiful mate, and it speaks volumes of the love you guys shared…would like to share this post on one of my blogs if that’s ok?? Feel free to do yourself, I’ll give you the details 🙂 BTW….how about some pictures of that wild garden, am sure it’s everything your words described ♥ Love you always, Deb xxxxx

    Like

    • Thank you Deb, how are things down under? You know you are always welcome to share my stuff, sweetie. I’ll look for some older pictures of my ‘wild garden’. At the momernt it’s still a dead garden. Spirea bushes have greened up, that’s about it. Spring is a little slow to get going this year.

      Like

  3. Elizabeth, i am so moved by this loving tribute to mom. and inspired … you find her every day, in the flowers that bloom again and again. xo tony

    Like

  4. Elizabeth, this is very sweet, and very touching, I glad to have had a chance to read it this morning. thank you.

    Like

  5. you were lucky to have them as parents! I love roses and wild flowers 🙂

    Like

“Our opinions do not really blossom into fruition until we have expressed them to someone else.” ― Mark Twain

