Elizabeth Melton Parsons

Writing~Art~Life

Homeless

4 Comments

I just heard a nasty remark about the homeless. I wonder if this person is completely clueless or just stupid. My son was once a member of the homeless. He’d recently finished high school and taken a job and apartment with 2 roommates in a larger city 50 miles away. He always called me once a week. One day he called collect from a phone booth and I could tell he was sick. He kept saying it was nothing, but after much coaxing I finally got it out of him.

His apartment building had been closed for renovation and was going to be turned into a historical landmark. He was given 30 days to get out. Unfortunately, he didn’t have the funds to get into another one on such short notice without the benefit of roommates to share the cost. He’d been living in his car in the middle of winter. His car broke down, he lost his job. He had no money, no heat, no food and had not had for several weeks. He’d been warned several times to move the car or it was going to be towed. He said it already would have been except for the sympathy of the police officer, giving him more time.

I immediately went and got him and had the car towed to our house. I took him to the doctor, he had pneumonia. When I berated him for not calling me right away, he said he just kept thinking he could work it out himself. Admirable, but he could have died trying. People can become homeless for a number of different reasons. It’s not always their own fault. So next time you want to look down your nose at a homeless person. Don’t.

Author: Elizabeth Melton Parsons

I'm a novelist, poet, and artist. I love books, nature, art, and gardening. I'm a rock hound and there's a photo of me with a cool fossil rock on my about page, I take a lot of nature pictures. The background here is one of mine. Unfortunately I recently lost my wonderful husband, but I'm grateful to have the blessing of two beautiful sons. elizabethmeltonparsons.wordpress.com is © Elizabeth Melton Parsons 2007-2017. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Elizabeth Melton Parsons with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

4 thoughts on “Homeless

  1. Have no comprehension of those who have such little compassion for mankind….thanks for sharing this heartfelt story and let’s hope that maybe tonight, somewhere, a humanitarian is putting a roof over the head of someone less fortunate than himself!

    Like

  2. Very emotional post.l am glad your son is O.K. His story brings tears to the eyes.Thanks God he called you.Thank you for the visit . Blessing..jalal

    Like

“Our opinions do not really blossom into fruition until we have expressed them to someone else.” ― Mark Twain

