Elizabeth Melton Parsons

Writing~Art~Life

Maximo Daegan – My New Puppy

7 Comments

Max

Max

Is there anything sweeter than a new puppy? Yes, a puppy that’s housetrained. 🙂 I think that’s why I’m partial to cats. I found CB, my cat, as a kitten and when I filled his litter box, voila–he was instantly housetrained. Nice. But back to Max. We named him Maximo Daegan. Maximo because we like it and Daegan because it’s Irish for black haired. But to us, he’s just Max. He’s an eight week old black and tan mini dachshund. A tiny little bundle of trouble.

CB

CB


He tortures CB everytime my back is turned even though he knows he’s not supposed to. I’m really surprised the cat tolerates it. Being nipped at by that little bundle of energy cannot be pleasant.We’d not had very good luck with pets in recent years. After we lost Charlie, our boxer, we decided no more dogs. It was just too hard. But after a little while we tried again with a rescue snoodle whose previous owners had dumped at a kill shelter. Unfortunately unknown to us at the time, Sophie had liver cancer and eventually had to be put to sleep. I swore never again, but I’d not been without a canine companion since I was a kid and things just didn’t seem right without one. So after two years, I began to check the shelters and recues for the right dog for our family. I found several, but some were not cat friendly or dog friendly and a few didn’t even like people. I did find four that seemed perfect, but were adopted the day or day after I visited them.

Then I found Max. All his simblings had already found homes, but Max had an eye injury, which is probably why he was still available. I couldn’t resist him and his eye is supposed to heal without any problems. We’ll have to wait and see on that. So although I had not wanted a puppy to mess with training. That’s what I got and I adore him.

Author: Elizabeth Melton Parsons

I'm a novelist, poet, and artist. I love books, nature, art, and gardening. I'm a rock hound and there's a photo of me with a cool fossil rock on my about page, I take a lot of nature pictures. The background here is one of mine. Unfortunately I recently lost my wonderful husband, but I'm grateful to have the blessing of two beautiful sons. elizabethmeltonparsons.wordpress.com is © Elizabeth Melton Parsons 2007-2017. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Elizabeth Melton Parsons with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

7 thoughts on “Maximo Daegan – My New Puppy

  1. awwwwww! congrats on your new fur baby! very adorable 😉

    Like

  2. Pingback: URL

  3. Pingback: relevant web site

  4. Pingback: guaranteed search engine optimization

  5. Pingback: just click the up coming internet page

  6. Pingback: BrowsingSuggested Internet page

“Our opinions do not really blossom into fruition until we have expressed them to someone else.” ― Mark Twain

