Elizabeth Melton Parsons

Writing~Art~Life

Photos: What Happened To My Rose?

32 Comments

Four years ago my husband bought me a beautiful yellow rose bush similar to this image. I’ve always wished I could grow roses the way my dad did. He had roses everywhere of every kind, including a few magnificent exotic varieties. And they all thrived under his tender care. Unfortunately, I’ve never had much luck growing roses except for the knockout variety. But I adore those large yellow roses with petals outlined in coral, exactly like the one my hubby gave me. I carefully followed the planting and care instructions, hoping this time would be different. And it flourished that summer giving me tons of awesome, huge, yellow flowers. That fall and the following spring, I again followed the care instructions and sat back to await the fruits of my labor. Nothing. The bush leafed out nicely, but not one single bud appeared all summer.

Last year I was determined to dig the poor thing up and give it a decent burial, but I stopped when I discovered one red rose blooming on my yellow rose bush. I was perplexed, so I left it to see what would happen this year. Here’s a picture of my yellow rosh bush this spring and a close up of one of the roses. Is this what’s called ‘returning to a wild state’? I’ve heard this expression used when a hybrid rose returns to it’s wild variety.

Yellow Rose Bush Turns Red

My Yellow Rose Turns Red
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Author: Elizabeth Melton Parsons

I'm a novelist, poet, and artist. I love books, nature, art, and gardening. I'm a rock hound and there's a photo of me with a cool fossil rock on my about page, I take a lot of nature pictures. The background here is one of mine. Unfortunately I recently lost my wonderful husband, but I'm grateful to have the blessing of two beautiful sons. elizabethmeltonparsons.wordpress.com is © Elizabeth Melton Parsons 2007-2017. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Elizabeth Melton Parsons with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

32 thoughts on “Photos: What Happened To My Rose?

  1. Yes, unfortunately your rose has resorted back to its original scion or budded stock.
    On the other side at least it didn’t die !

    Like

  2. It’s still lovely – but maybe you could try again with another yellow rose? I think all roses are beautiful – especially the scented ones.

    Like

  3. Splendid post.Beautiful roses .When we moved to our new home my wife planted in the front yard a garden of rose bushes ,They really brighten the morning .Thank you for liking the Arabic version of the poem.Regards.jalal

    Like

  4. I am glad you liked my quote ( He Who…) best regards.jalal

    Like

  5. Very beautiful photos

    Like

  6. I have an extremely old rose it is blood red and is flowering for the second time this year I am so frightened to prune it to spool the blooms we have till july to prune here in Australia

    Like

  7. Wow, I never knew…I also love roses and the yellow ones are some of my favorite 🙂 Thank you for stopping by my blog and liking some of my pages…hope you’ll stop by often, as I will yours! Blessings.

    Like

  8. I think, the pictures are beautiful!
    Thank you for sharing

    Like

  9. Thank you Elizabeth for stopping by my blog and liking “Try A Little Harder To Be A Little Better” I really appreciate it! I think your pictures are so uplifting, thank you!

    Like

  10. Hello Elizabeth! Here is a theory: There might be too many red rose bush nearby and the bees did a cross pollination on your yellow rose bush

    Like

  11. We have a funny rose bush in our yard. My husband lovingly transported a pink rose bush from our last home when we moved. The next spring when it bloomed it was a brilliant yellow. We are not sure what happened but we LOVE it. Thank you for sharing. Omaste owfotografik.com

    Like

  12. A [yellow] rose by another other [hue] name would smell as sweet…? Beautiful in any colour!

    Like

  13. A good sign I would take it, from beauty to beauty.

    Like

  14. Pingback: This Ping is for you! | theseeker

  15. Wonderment #1

    Water rushes, tickling feet with sand.
    Gilgamesh relaxes by the sea.
    Purple Echinacea sends a cone into rain.
    Chopin laughs and strokes his polonaise.
    A beetle digs the desert, over oil.
    Chang Sung-Up daubs a mystery in ink.

    Water trickles down a granite wall.
    Lao-Tzu hikes through summer’s offerings.
    Yellow lilies waver in the wind.
    Tasman lacquers the last board of his keel.
    Crystals mingle with Icelandic ash.
    Lodi licks his chops, nudge-nudge, wink-wink.

    Water batters barns from red to gray.
    Burck paints Frida as Leipzig hums along.
    Canandaigua feels the White Snake’s breath.
    Handsome Lake enjoys a drive-in movie.
    Sesame rice lands in a wooden bowl.
    Africa snaps a twig and starts to think.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Thanks for a lovely rose reminder; and for stopping by wordverseuniverse. As much as I appreciate a rose’s appearance, it’s its fragrance which brings my face close to its . . .

    Liked by 1 person

  17. This has happened to one of my plants as well! I had yellow roses exactly like the one pictured at the top of the post and now I have red ones just like yours. If only it wasn’t planted between two pink ones. Oh well, was glad to see this is a real thing and I’m not losing my mind!

    Like

“Our opinions do not really blossom into fruition until we have expressed them to someone else.” ― Mark Twain

