Elizabeth Melton Parsons

Writing~Art~Life

Diabetes and the Holidays

5 Comments

I cooked Thanksgiving dinner for five this year, a very small number compared to the past. While we were scarfing down our feast, one of my guests announced that they’d heard a news report stating the average American would consume six thousand calories on Thanksgiving. My first thought as I looked down at my plate was, “No way!”

I consider myself an average American and I’d only taken one or two of teaspoons of each dish, but since there were so many dishes, my plate was pretty full. I only ate half of what was on there and for dessert, I had a tiny slice of chocolate cake. Could that possibly equal six thousand calories? Normally I eat somewhere between a thousand and fifteen hundred calories a day, so six thousand calories would be close to a week’s worth of food for me. Very scary for a diabetic. Yesterday (friday) my family and I ate left overs. Was that another six thousand calories? I don’t know, but if this is an actual measure of calories consumed during Thanksgiving and then again on Christmas, it’s no wonder there are so many people gaining weight over the holidays.

For most, it probably doesn’t matter. They gain a few pounds and then after the holidays, they lose it. But for diabetics, it’s a different story. Just how high will this type of eating raise blood sugar levels? I was very bad in that I didn’t check my blood sugar on Thanksgiving day nor yesterday. I did however check it this morning. It was 324. This is pretty high and I’m sure it was a lot worse the past couple of days, which means from now until Christmas, I’ll be watching my diet religiously. And on Christmas? Well, if I have the mental fortitude, it will be turkey or ham and salad for me with maybe a baked sweet potato. I’ll be bypassing the stuffing, sweet potato souffle, cranberry sauce, mashed potatoes, gravy, rolls,  and any and all sugary dessert. Kind of a bummer, but better than having shoot myself full of insulin.

Author: Elizabeth Melton Parsons

I'm a novelist, poet, and artist. I love books, nature, art, and gardening. I'm a rock hound and there's a photo of me with a cool fossil rock on my about page, I take a lot of nature pictures. The background here is one of mine. Unfortunately I recently lost my wonderful husband, but I'm grateful to have the blessing of two beautiful sons. elizabethmeltonparsons.wordpress.com is © Elizabeth Melton Parsons 2007-2017. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Elizabeth Melton Parsons with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

5 thoughts on “Diabetes and the Holidays

  1. We had turkey, turkey gravy, stuffing, cranberry sauce, rolls, and sweet potato souffle for dessert and Sarah took 20units of insulin and still was 300 at bedtime! I love sweet potato souffle. I don’t even want to think about the calories. Hope you have happy holidays!

    Like

  2. I fool interpret a scarcely any of the articles on your website trendy, and I extremely like your tastefulness of blogging. I added it to my favorites entanglement stage muster and will be checking assist soon. Please contain into public notice my orientation as highly and let me be acquainted with what you think. Thanks.

    Like

  3. But this is a shocking statistic Americas unhealthiest drink contains a whopping 2 010 calories. With 2 010 calories 131g of fat 68g of that is saturated fat and 153g sugar this 24fl oz drink is apparently popular with tourists but not with residents of the Cold Stone ice cream shop in Marina Del Rey California.

    Like

  4. Thanks because of this! I’ve been searching all above the web for that facts.

    Like

  5. Hey can I copy and paste this post on my web site? What references must I give? You might give this info for other people too.

    Like

“Our opinions do not really blossom into fruition until we have expressed them to someone else.” ― Mark Twain

