Elizabeth Melton Parsons

Writing~Art~Life

Photos: Praying Mantis Blends into Hydrangea

1 Comment

I’ve heard all my life that killing a praying mantis/mantid in certain states like Kentucky and Indiana is illegal. Not so, but I wouldn’t kill one…not intentionally at least. I believe this bright green, four inch mantis sitting on my hydrangea is of the Chinese variety, but that’s just a guess. It doesn’t look like a native Kentucky or Indiana specimen, which are smaller and more gray or mottled gray in color, although I could be wrong. I was amazed at how well he blended into the bright green leaves. Being an ambush predator, I’m sure that ability comes in handy. It was a little different color while sitting on a hand.

Mantids don’t bite or sting, but when they turn that triangular head and look at you, they can be kind of creepy. Most people know they eat other insects and not just the pests, but beneficial ones too. They will also catch and kill hummingbirds. Go here for proof : Warning, if you love the little hummers, these pictures are hard to look at.  http://www.birdwatchersdigest.com/site/backyardbirds/hummingbirds/mantis-hummer.aspx

Author: Elizabeth Melton Parsons

I'm a novelist, poet, and artist. I love books, nature, art, and gardening. I'm a rock hound and there's a photo of me with a cool fossil rock on my about page, I take a lot of nature pictures. The background here is one of mine. Unfortunately I recently lost my wonderful husband, but I'm grateful to have the blessing of two beautiful sons. elizabethmeltonparsons.wordpress.com is © Elizabeth Melton Parsons 2007-2017. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Elizabeth Melton Parsons with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

One thought on “Photos: Praying Mantis Blends into Hydrangea

  1. gonna send this to my mom

    Like

“Our opinions do not really blossom into fruition until we have expressed them to someone else.” ― Mark Twain

