Elizabeth Melton Parsons

Writing~Art~Life

Spider Photo: Large Marbled Orange Orb Weaver

19 Comments

large-orb-weaverEarlier I had posted some photos of amazing round spider webs. This is one of the guys responsible for the orbs. He was sitting by the entrance to my front door. Beautiful isn’t he?

Author: Elizabeth Melton Parsons

I'm a novelist, poet, and artist. I love books, nature, art, and gardening. I'm a rock hound and there's a photo of me with a cool fossil rock on my about page, I take a lot of nature pictures. The background here is one of mine. Unfortunately I recently lost my wonderful husband, but I'm grateful to have the blessing of two beautiful sons. elizabethmeltonparsons.wordpress.com is © Elizabeth Melton Parsons 2007-2017. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Elizabeth Melton Parsons with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

19 thoughts on “Spider Photo: Large Marbled Orange Orb Weaver

  1. Elizabeth, it was quite a delight to see your picture of the Halloween spider. I have this very spider in my doorway at home. It came at the right time of year for the colorful coat he or she wears. It reminded me of a pumpkin. I have never, ever seen a spider like this. I live in Missouri, USA. I don’t think they are even suppose to be this far south. When I did a search on spiders, it was not included in our local spiders. Thanks for the blog.

    Like

  2. Hi, Jamie, these orange orb weavers are truly spectacular aren’t they? We had several living around the house this summer. My son spotted this one by the door when he came home from school. It was the brightest orange color…much brighter than the photo. Happy Halloween! 🙂

    Like

  3. Hi Jamie, I think I ran across one of these Orange Orbs. It was on the bottom of a lantern on our deck at our summer place out by Dixon, IL. I took some close-up pictures. It is absolutely beautiful.

    Like

  4. Is this spider native to Idaho that you know of? My too was located at the front entryway of my door. I just moved into an old farm house and this big orange bloated looking spider was wondering along the soffit above my head. I took a picture and it looks very similar to what you have posted.

    Like

  5. I found a spider just like this on my fence today (in Minnesota). Scared the …….. out of me. I have a fear of spiders, and this one just sent me over the top. Gross…………..evil.

    Like

  6. I found a beautiful orange orb weaver in Virginia in the 1950’s when I was a child. I thought it’s back looked like a map so we called it a map spider.It of course was the marbled one. I never saw it again and have never seen one again. Many years later my precious son Barry, who has since passed away at 46 years of age from the way I described the spider found it on his computer and I got to see it again. I will always connect my son with my childhood spider. We printed it out and framed it and I use the picture in my Fall decorated bathroom in October.I have always thought it was the most beautiful spider. I am not afraid of spiders although I don’t want them crawling on me..My grandson, Nathan had a Tarantula as a pet and I did hold it.Thanks for your sight and love of beautiful spiders.

    Like

  7. I’m not overly fond of spiders, but they can be fascinating.

    Like

  8. Sorry one of my biggest fears are spiders. Especially ones with big plump bodies!

    Like

    • I don’t think you’re alone with that fear, Elizabeth. But orb weavers are harmless to humans. I admit though, that the plump body spiders are scary. The body shape reminds me of the widow spiders. Thanks for visiting and commenting. Have a lovely evening. 🙂

      Like

  9. When my husband’s brother came to stay he decided to do me a favor and vacuum up all of my spider webs! I was so sad. I love those little guys!

    Like

  10. I tend to get fascinated by spiders and their webs! I was always the girl at camp who would help rid the tents of spiders. I have been known to pick up a snail on a path to get it out of danger from bikes! Crazy Robin!

    Like

  11. He is beautiful and looks like a charming little basket.

    Like

“Our opinions do not really blossom into fruition until we have expressed them to someone else.” ― Mark Twain

