Elizabeth Melton Parsons

Writing~Art~Life

Letting Go

3 Comments

They say you can’t move on without letting go. Who are THEY and how do THEY know these things? When I hear expressions like that, I always get a mental image of a vast table with these wise and wonderful people sitting around it in their long, dark robes and coming up with all these little gems.

I, like most people, carry around a lot of baggage from the past–some pretty bad, I admit, but some pretty darn good stuff too. So when we let go, do we say goodbye to the good along with the bad? Aren’t they kind of intertwined? Without the bad, can we truly appreciate the good?

I don’t know the answers, but there’s one thing on which I do concur. You can’t wallow in past bad stuff. If you do, you will never do anything but that. When I was twenty-one, I lost my dad, then a few years ago I lost both a brother and my mom. I still grieve for them. I don’t wallow in it, but I did for a while. I ranted, I cursed, I cried…I was so angry and frustrated. I hurt and I felt helpless. Have I let go? I honestly don’t think I have. I still get angry, I still cry at the oddest of times.

How do you let go of those emotions that burrow so deep inside they seem to become a part of your soul? Can you? And should you? A friend of mine told me to pray. I did and do. And yes, God gave me the courage to live with these emotions, but they are still there lurking in the corners.

Have I moved on? What does that mean exactly? I work, I play, I nuture my family, I laugh–is that moving on? I believe it is.

Author: Elizabeth Melton Parsons

I'm a novelist, poet, and artist. I love books, nature, art, and gardening. I'm a rock hound and there's a photo of me with a cool fossil rock on my about page, I take a lot of nature pictures. The background here is one of mine. Unfortunately I recently lost my wonderful husband, but I'm grateful to have the blessing of two beautiful sons. elizabethmeltonparsons.wordpress.com is © Elizabeth Melton Parsons 2007-2017. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Elizabeth Melton Parsons with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

3 thoughts on “Letting Go

  1. Every person is the sum total of their personality and their experiences in life. Grief is a natural and necessary emotion to come to terms with loss. It cannot be banished altogether, as that would warp your personality. The people that have passed on were once an integral part of your life, so sadness at their loss is normal. However, neither can you allow grief to take over your life, as that would carry the same peril.

    Like

  2. I have been reading Guido’s journal and popped in to read yours. I am sure we have all had our time of grief and I am also sure that we find our own way through these times..
    Sybil

    Like

  3. I’m visiting you from Guido’s journal. When you pose the thought, ‘you can’t wallow in past bad stuff’, you hit the nail on the head, so-to-speak.

    I offer my sympathy to you — you have lost so much. I think it is in the remembering that we pass through grief and into some sort of acceptance — and that allows us to move forward in life.

    Like

“Our opinions do not really blossom into fruition until we have expressed them to someone else.” ― Mark Twain

