Elizabeth Melton Parsons

Writing~Art~Life

Everlasting Love: Deceptive Hearts ~ chapter 3 cont…

Leave a comment

***

 

Diana had kept her promise, driving Robbie back forth to the center every day for the past three weeks. Warren was progressing faster than anyone had thought. He was walking with a walker a couple times a day and the doctors seemed to think it wouldn’t be more than a few months until he’d be walking on his own.

She looked ahead at them. They spoke softly together, as Robbie walked along side his father’s wheelchair. The center’s grounds were like a small park with wide concrete paths. They loved coming out here, but Diana felt like an outsider—an intruder into their time together. Warren was always carefully polite to her and Robbie was so excited to be with his daddy, he failed to notice anything wrong. They turned at the corner and came back to her.

“It’s getting colder. Robbie, run inside and asked one of the orderlies to bring us some hot cocoa to the atrium. Your mother and I will meet you there.”

“Okay.” He jogged down the path to the wide French doors.

“I need to speak with you, Diana. I want to know if you intend to file or if you’d prefer I do it?”

She stared at the dead remains of the rose bushes. Dead—like our marriage. But the roses will come back to life and beauty come the spring. “I have no intention of filing for a divorce, Warren. If you plan to go ahead with the destruction of our family, you will have to do so without help from me.”

“Surely you don’t have it in mind to fight the divorce.”

“Oh, yes. I will fight it. I know I can’t win—can’t force you to stay married to me, but I can slow down the process considerably.”

“Why would you do that? It will only make it harder on the kids.”

“Tell me, Warren. Do you remember what you said to me the night you convinced me that marrying you would be the right thing?”

“I said all kinds of things that night, Diana. Why bring up the past?”

She looked into his eyes. “You said, ‘I promise I will never abandon you, Dee. Never.’ Those were your exact words.”

He flinched and looked away. 

 

Copyright ©E. G. Parsons

 

  

 

Author: Elizabeth Melton Parsons

I'm a novelist, poet, and artist. I love books, nature, art, and gardening. I'm a rock hound and there's a photo of me with a cool fossil rock on my about page, I take a lot of nature pictures. The background here is one of mine. Unfortunately I recently lost my wonderful husband, but I'm grateful to have the blessing of two beautiful sons. elizabethmeltonparsons.wordpress.com is © Elizabeth Melton Parsons 2007-2017. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Elizabeth Melton Parsons with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

“Our opinions do not really blossom into fruition until we have expressed them to someone else.” ― Mark Twain

