Elizabeth Melton Parsons

Writing~Art~Life

Everlasting Love: deceptive hearts ~ Chapter 3 cont…

Leave a comment

***

 

Sarah met them in the lobby. “Oh, Mom, it was so great. Russell was sitting with him and thought sure he saw his fingers move. The nurse thought he was imagining it, but called Dr. Thompson anyway. They were able to remove some of the tubes and wires and then I was able to go in. Daddy looked at me and said, ‘when’s lunch?’ I just started laughing.”

Diana hugged her and Lily asked. “Why didn’t you call us right away?”

“I called as soon as I was certain he was awake and Russell hadn’t just imagined seeing movement.”

“Humph.”

“Be nice, Lily.” Diana admonished. “Let’s go upstairs and see Daddy.” She draped her arm around Robbie and walked to the elevator.

Sarah stopped them outside the room. “Mom, you go in. Lily and Robbie can wait here with me. Dr. Thompson doesn’t want but one person at a time in there. He thinks it would cause too much excitement.”

“No, Robbie will go in first. Go on, honey. Go visit with your Daddy for a little. Lily and I can wait.”

“But, Mom…I.”

“Hush now Lily. We can wait.”

“All right, go ahead, Rob.” She went to one of the chairs and sat, a sullen expression on her face.

Robbie went in the room and Diana sat next to her daughter. “Lily, your acting like a child and you are not a child, but Robbie is. You’ve seen your father every day. Robbie hasn’t seen him since before the accident. He needs to see that his Daddy is awake. Can’t you understand that?”

 

Copyright ©Elizabeth Melton Parsons

 

Author: Elizabeth Melton Parsons

I'm a novelist, poet, and artist. I love books, nature, art, and gardening. I'm a rock hound and there's a photo of me with a cool fossil rock on my about page, I take a lot of nature pictures. The background here is one of mine. Unfortunately I recently lost my wonderful husband, but I'm grateful to have the blessing of two beautiful sons. elizabethmeltonparsons.wordpress.com is © Elizabeth Melton Parsons 2007-2017. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Elizabeth Melton Parsons with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

“Our opinions do not really blossom into fruition until we have expressed them to someone else.” ― Mark Twain

